Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
very good. I used cubes of butternut squash instead of sweet potato because it's what I had on hand and it's delish. I also used fish sauce instead of the salt. The crazy thing is that you don't taste the sweet potatoes (or squash) at all - it just tastes like a thai dish. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Maybe I need to get accustomed to the taste, but I did not like this at all. Curry and sweet potato, not for me. btw I followed the recipe except for the curry paste, used reviewer suggestions of using curry powder and other seasonings. Maybe that had a lot to do with the taste. Will not try again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Signal Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Absolutely FANTASTIC!!! I love coconut milk, sweet potatoes, and curry, so there was really no way I could dislike this recipe! I omitted the cilantro and sesame oil - really wasn't needed. I used a mix of white-flesh sweet potatoes and yams (what I had on hand), and added 1 tsp of cumin, chili powder, and cayanne (for that extra kick.) Ate with warm naan bread. Seriously amazing - my boyfriend loved it as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup and it was very easy to make. Perfect for something a little unique on a cool evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
fantastic flavor and super quick. this is definitely a keeper. i grated the ginger and sauteed it, along with the onions, in coconut oil. followed the rest of the recipe exactly. tossed in some shitake mushrooms that i didn't want to go bad. super yummy!! and vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. My 2 tweaks: The 1T sesame oil was a bit much -- I'd probably just do 1tsp next time. I added 2 cloves of garlic. Love, love, love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolastorm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Not all that good. I belded mine with a hand mixer and it reminded me too much of baby food afterwards. My boyfriend didn't like it at all and we are both big fans of red curry and yams seperately. He said "you shouldn't have added carrots", which i didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
What a great and easy soup! I used the super fast method and substitution for curry paste and fresh ginger shared by PAROGIRL. I left some of the skin on the sweet potato and only used my potato masher, did not put in blender as I like a bit of texture. Will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Excellent flavour. To save on time, I microwaved the sweet potato instead of baking it. Next time I would consider blending some of the potato so that it's not only chunks. Instead of doing the onion in vegetable oil and then adding more oil later, I sautéed the onion in the sesame oil. I was out of ginger so I used ginger powder instead, which worked fine. I might use chicken broth and add a bit of chicken next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I modified yet I am sure the original recipe will taste good. i had some pumpkin and carrots lying around, so I used those. I realized late that I was out of curry paste so I ended up puyiing Indian Masalas like turmeric, cayene, coriander powder and Garam Masala. Turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States