Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great recipe made even better with a little tweaking. I added some galangal root and a few kaffir lime leaves while it simmered-- that really added a lot of depth and flavor. Next time I will use lime juice instead of lemon for a more authentic Thai flavor. Would also be great with some shrimp or crab stirred in at the end. L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe and thought it had amazing flavor. Instead of leaving the sweet potato cubed, while in the soup I mashed it. After the soup sat for about 3 to 5 minutes the consistency was thicker. I agree that you must get the sesame oil and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great soup. I made the soup quicker and easier by peeling/dicing the potatoes and adding them to the broth to boil until tender. I threw in some onions to boil too. I then added seasonings, coconut milk and served. YUMMY! Definitely somthing different to bring to the dinner table. My kids liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I didn't have any cilantro but this will still great. I used coconut cream because it's more flavorful, and trust me, this is quite the satisfying soup. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is a very tasty soup! I didn't have ginger root so substituted with 1 T of ginger powder. Also only had 1 C of vegetable broth so I added 2 cups of water and 3 bullion cubes. Even my baby loves it, will definitely save this and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I've made this a few times now varying it a little and found I prefer the original recipe and putting half in the blender so it's thicker but still chunky. This has become a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
We just had this for dinner tonight without altering the recipe at all. It was absolutely delicious just as it is! Some people enjoy changing things around just because they can, but I say why mess with perfection?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Wonderful! I made it with canned pumpkin b/c I was out of sweet potato. We both loved it! Easy and delicious. A great way to get more sweet potato (or pumpkin!) in your diet, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
De-lish. I used half sweet potato and half pumpkin and it seemed to work perfectly well! I was suspicious about the lemon juice and added it very slowly, tasting as I went - but wow! It does work. Not sure about the sesame oil - it was maybe one flavour too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This soup is amazing! We all loved it and will make it on thanksgiving too :) I added shredded chicken, carrots, and corn. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoannaFuerst
Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States