Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was very good but be careful with how much red curry paste you use!! Next time I will start small and taste because its gets very hot>> but we ate it - next time less heat. I added some other spices cumin, freah garlic,lime juice I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This soup is good, and everyone who tries it LOVES it. I put it in the blender, as it looked very unappealing before it was blended. I personally find it a bit rich and sweet, and although it tastes very nice, I can only handle a small cup of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Flavor of this soup was well beyond expectations. Made it as written except for using beef broth but nothing needs to be changed to make this a winning soup. The nutty flavor of drizzled sesame oil gave this an interesting twist, and we also experimented with drizzling peanut sauce on hand which could create a nice variation. Other reviewers said they pureed their soup, and I imagine that being very good. This would pair nicely with a fish/seafood main dish. A definite make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was awesome! I put less curry paste in (personal preference) and did run it thru the blender to make it more of a cream soup... otherwise made it as written and loved it. Absolutely will make it again and again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
OMG 3 of my faves in one bowl...coconut milk, sweet potato and spicy! So easy and delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very good soup. I had no cilantro or sesame oil but loved it notheless. I did puree the soup at the end too and only added 2 cups of broth so it was thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Not bad. A bit too sweet and coconutty for my taste though. One of my sons loved it and the other one did not care for it at all. I would use evaporated milk next time instead of the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Wow. This soup is amazing. If you can please use the fresh ginger and red curry paste; I believe they make this dish. The only ingred. I changed was chicken broth. I microwaved the sweet potatoes and they peeled easily. After soup was done I took about 3/4 of it and blended it in blender. This left just a few pieces for texture but mostly a beautful creamy red soup. Thanks Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I added only coconut milk and water, because I was out of veggie broth, and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
So good! I've just started a paleo diet and this is easily adjusted to paleo (used olive oil not veg. oil). I used chicken broth in place of veg., lime juice instead of lemon, skipped ginger and cilantro and also added some Cajun seasoning. My husband loved it even without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States