Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was awesome! I put less curry paste in (personal preference) and did run it thru the blender to make it more of a cream soup... otherwise made it as written and loved it. Absolutely will make it again and again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBOERSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
OMG 3 of my faves in one bowl...coconut milk, sweet potato and spicy! So easy and delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very good soup. I had no cilantro or sesame oil but loved it notheless. I did puree the soup at the end too and only added 2 cups of broth so it was thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Not bad. A bit too sweet and coconutty for my taste though. One of my sons loved it and the other one did not care for it at all. I would use evaporated milk next time instead of the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Wow. This soup is amazing. If you can please use the fresh ginger and red curry paste; I believe they make this dish. The only ingred. I changed was chicken broth. I microwaved the sweet potatoes and they peeled easily. After soup was done I took about 3/4 of it and blended it in blender. This left just a few pieces for texture but mostly a beautful creamy red soup. Thanks Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I added only coconut milk and water, because I was out of veggie broth, and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
So good! I've just started a paleo diet and this is easily adjusted to paleo (used olive oil not veg. oil). I used chicken broth in place of veg., lime juice instead of lemon, skipped ginger and cilantro and also added some Cajun seasoning. My husband loved it even without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is delicious! Be sure not to skip the cilantro garnish, it adds a wonderful flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I really enjoyed the soup and was pleasantly surprised with the taste. There were a few things I omitted bc I didn't have it or chose not to use it; cilantro, sesame oil and substitute vegetable broth and used chicken broth. I'll definitely have this soup again; however, I'll take the advice of another reviewer and be sure to shave the "hairs" from the fresh ginger or even use ginger paste to give that flavor that only it has. I wasn't sure how the ginger would be being that it was still in the soup, but it actually had a mellow flavor and wasn't as pungent as I thought it'd be. Oh yeah, i used my last 2 tbsp of lemon juice so the third was lime bc i like how lime marries with Asian dishes. Great recipe in spite of the subtle changes I made..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael B.
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter and ended up with a disappointing vat of bland unpleasant liquid. I ended up creaming it and adding a lot of other ingredients to make it edible. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States