Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Excellent flavour. To save on time, I microwaved the sweet potato instead of baking it. Next time I would consider blending some of the potato so that it's not only chunks. Instead of doing the onion in vegetable oil and then adding more oil later, I sautéed the onion in the sesame oil. I was out of ginger so I used ginger powder instead, which worked fine. I might use chicken broth and add a bit of chicken next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I modified yet I am sure the original recipe will taste good. i had some pumpkin and carrots lying around, so I used those. I realized late that I was out of curry paste so I ended up puyiing Indian Masalas like turmeric, cayene, coriander powder and Garam Masala. Turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Absolutely delicious, although I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used less coconut to keep it a bit healthier, used extra curry paste, added about a teaspoon of garlic to the onions, used fish sauce instead of salt, use the juice of one lime instead of the lemon juice, and didn't add the cilantro or sesame oil. I simmered the sweet potato in the broth for several hours making it a bit thicker, but still with hunks of sweet potato. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was GREAT! I was looking of new ways of cooking sweet potatos and this is a great one. Here are my changes: -I added more curry paste, 2 garlic cloves, some cayenne pepper and shrimps. -I replaced the salt by nuoc nam (fish sauce) and used chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth. -I mashed the roasted sweet potatos before adding them to the soup. Very flavourful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
While this recipe was extremely flavorful, I am only giving it 3 stars because the flavor was not particularly appealing to me. My husband tasted it and was surprised by the "intense" coconut flavor while I felt that the lemon and ginger were overpowering. I felt that there were too many strong conflicting flavors. I followed the advise on someone else's comment and pureed the sweet potatoes, a step I regretted as it turned the soup into a very very liquidy substance. I allowed it to simmer for about 2 hours which changed the soup into a more desirable consistency. I also added an extra teaspoon of curry paste because we like spice, which even that extra curry did not make it much spicier. It was beautiful with the sesame oil and cilantro in it when served! And I also did not have vegetable broth on hand and thus used chicken broth, which we could not taste in the soup so I don't think it made much of a difference. While my husband and I both ate the soup for dinner, we will not be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was really good and I will definitely make it again! It tastes even better as leftovers because the sweet potatoes have a chance to soak in the spices more. Just be sure your sweet potatoes cook all the way through. Part of one potato ended up a little crunchy, so I did my best to only put the soft pieces in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This soup is great, but only if you BLEND IT. Without blending it, you end up with bland pieces of sweet potato and chunks of ginger. Blending the soup makes a wonderful creamy soup with a great mix of flavors. I've made this with vegetable broth and with chicken broth and both work fine, but I liked the vegetable broth better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Benson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
OMG, this was so good! What a great blend of flavors. I pureed the soup at the end and really liked the result. Didn't have any sesame oil but we did add some cilantro which gave it a nice tang. But it's good without too. Oh, and didn't add salt either. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Really really nice and easy to make soup. Followed others advice and used hand blender to smooth it out at end. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
My husband and I loved this soup! The fresh cilantro is a must. Alterations I made were: -I added mushrooms and corn while cooking the onions/ginger/curry paste -I also added about 1 cup of COOKED brown rice to make it more hearty. -I added some chili flakes to turn up the heat since my red curry paste wasn't that spicy. After adding the rice, we were able to eat the soup and a piece of toast as a great meal! Thanks for the recipe Lynn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita KJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States