Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is a very tasty soup! I didn't have ginger root so substituted with 1 T of ginger powder. Also only had 1 C of vegetable broth so I added 2 cups of water and 3 bullion cubes. Even my baby loves it, will definitely save this and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I've made this a few times now varying it a little and found I prefer the original recipe and putting half in the blender so it's thicker but still chunky. This has become a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
We just had this for dinner tonight without altering the recipe at all. It was absolutely delicious just as it is! Some people enjoy changing things around just because they can, but I say why mess with perfection?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Wonderful! I made it with canned pumpkin b/c I was out of sweet potato. We both loved it! Easy and delicious. A great way to get more sweet potato (or pumpkin!) in your diet, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
De-lish. I used half sweet potato and half pumpkin and it seemed to work perfectly well! I was suspicious about the lemon juice and added it very slowly, tasting as I went - but wow! It does work. Not sure about the sesame oil - it was maybe one flavour too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This soup is amazing! We all loved it and will make it on thanksgiving too :) I added shredded chicken, carrots, and corn. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoannaFuerst
Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Super yummy with an asian flare! I used the mae ploy red curry paste with an additional 1/2 serving. It made it a bitmore spicey. I put a little too much fresh ginger...I will pay more attention to detail next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made this soup for the first time and it was delicious! I made a few changes. Instead of using lemon juice, I used lime (I feel this goes well with curries). I also added sesame oil while cooking which added more depth. I blended all of the veggies with the stock with a hand blender before adding the cocnut milk. I also added cilantro during the last few minutes of cooking and then removed it to add extra "thai" flavour. I will be making this again for sure! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Love this soup! Just finished making and I may just eat the whole pot before dinner. I did make a few changes. Added carrots and celery with the onion. Also used ground cumin, ground ginger, turmeric and paprika. Also added lemon zest and lemon juice. And used chicken broth instead of veggie broth because that's what I had. It's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
very good. I used cubes of butternut squash instead of sweet potato because it's what I had on hand and it's delish. I also used fish sauce instead of the salt. The crazy thing is that you don't taste the sweet potatoes (or squash) at all - it just tastes like a thai dish. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States