Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I'm a newbie, and forgot to shave off the hairy outside of the ginger root, make sure you do that!! Also, my sweet potatoes must have been small since one of them completely exploded all over my oven after only 25 minutes. I salvaged the other one and still ate the soup, which was good but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious! However, it wasn't spicy enough for me. I doubled the curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was not our favourite sweet potato soup. I followed the recipe exactly as written. We love thai food, but were disappointed by the flavour of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I LOVED this. Totally authentic and totally thai. I boiled my sweet potato's and also added a 1 can of sweet potato's. I used 2 limes and some lemon juice. I also added more red curry paste. I did not puree this like some had suggested, and I don't find it necessary either. I would think that leaving it as is gives it a better texture. I also added cooked shrimp and it went perfectly. The toasted sesame oil was a great garnish, it really added a warmth to the dish. Don't forget to top it off with the cilantro... DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Yummy, I used Parogirl's modifications to make it faster...very savory and easy to make. My bf hates coconut so I didn't mention it was in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debaser
Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is GREAT! Only change -- I used chicken broth instead of veggie broth. I also grated the ginger. Very easy to make and impressive for dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This recipe was super easy to make and my family enjoyed it. I used a little too much curry paste and it got a little spicy. However the flavor was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great recipe made even better with a little tweaking. I added some galangal root and a few kaffir lime leaves while it simmered-- that really added a lot of depth and flavor. Next time I will use lime juice instead of lemon for a more authentic Thai flavor. Would also be great with some shrimp or crab stirred in at the end. L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe and thought it had amazing flavor. Instead of leaving the sweet potato cubed, while in the soup I mashed it. After the soup sat for about 3 to 5 minutes the consistency was thicker. I agree that you must get the sesame oil and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States