Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This soup is sooo yummy....I made two changes, I used chicken broth instead of the veg broth and I pureed the soup in a blender just before adding the lemon juice. Great fall soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Wonderful soup. I followed the recipe exactly. I put the sesame oil on the table so my guests could add it if they wanted because I find it can easily overpower a dish. I think baking the potatoes first added to the flavour of the soup. I did puree this with an immersion blender. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Addicting! It will be a regular recipe for me! Fresh ginger,red curry paste, sesame oil, cilantro - what an awesome combination. And it's so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was very good but be careful with how much red curry paste you use!! Next time I will start small and taste because its gets very hot>> but we ate it - next time less heat. I added some other spices cumin, freah garlic,lime juice I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This soup is good, and everyone who tries it LOVES it. I put it in the blender, as it looked very unappealing before it was blended. I personally find it a bit rich and sweet, and although it tastes very nice, I can only handle a small cup of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Flavor of this soup was well beyond expectations. Made it as written except for using beef broth but nothing needs to be changed to make this a winning soup. The nutty flavor of drizzled sesame oil gave this an interesting twist, and we also experimented with drizzling peanut sauce on hand which could create a nice variation. Other reviewers said they pureed their soup, and I imagine that being very good. This would pair nicely with a fish/seafood main dish. A definite make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was awesome! I put less curry paste in (personal preference) and did run it thru the blender to make it more of a cream soup... otherwise made it as written and loved it. Absolutely will make it again and again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
OMG 3 of my faves in one bowl...coconut milk, sweet potato and spicy! So easy and delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very good soup. I had no cilantro or sesame oil but loved it notheless. I did puree the soup at the end too and only added 2 cups of broth so it was thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Not bad. A bit too sweet and coconutty for my taste though. One of my sons loved it and the other one did not care for it at all. I would use evaporated milk next time instead of the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States