Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
It does have quite a bite to it and a lot of people will find it a bit too hot. Peeling and cutting the sweet potato into bite sized pieces and roasting in a bit of olive oil and salt/pepper saves time and mess. Also for those who like ginger but not slices of it could use the grated ginger you can buy in the stores. Then the flavor is there but not in slice formed. I also roasted a bit more potato and puree'd it with some of the broth to slightly thicken up the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Searchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made this weight watcher friendly by using butternut squash instead of sweet potatoes and light coconut milk. I thought it was fabulously, wonderfully delicious!!!! It tasted sinfully rich and was only 1 point per cup! I used an immersion blender to blend all the ingredients into a velvety soup. If you don't have an immersion blender and do a lot of soups get one - they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I couldn't fine red curry paste in japan so I used Curry Powder. Next time I'll order the paste on the internet in advance. This is an excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLSANTIMORE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was awesome! Changed a few things, I peeled and boiled the sweet potatoes, then blended them with the coconut milk. Put that in with the broth and onions and then added the spices instead of chili paste. As per another review 1 teaspoon ginger, 1 teaspoon chili powder, 1 t- cumin, and 2 t-curry. I also put in cayanne for extra spice. And then thickened it with 1 tablesoon cornstarch. I wanted to make this more like a thai dish than soup. So I made rice on the side and browned some chicken to add at the end. It was fantastic! But, adding the sesame oil flattened the taste so I added more curry to taste and next time I will add some brown sugar to sweeten it up. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is a keeper. Very light, delicate flavor and apetizing texture. I used dried ginger instead of fresh and curry powder instead of paste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Piratefrog
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Made my own vegetable broth with what I had in the refrigerator and instead of curry paste, I added 1 tsp Chili powder, 1 tsp Cumin, and 1 tsp Curry powder as suggested by another reviewer. I also pureed the soup in a blender, as the last step before adding sesame oil and cilantro. Very creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piratefrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This dish was excellent. Spicy without burning and very flavorful. I took it to a potluck and everyone loved it. Easy and not time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwesomeTara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirsdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This soup is great although I thought the sesame oil overwhelmed the soup, but I love thai curry flavor. I blended the soup with about 2/3 of the sweet potatoes and then added the remaining chopped up sweet potatoes for a little texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPDNVR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocahontas, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly and it was amazing. I had one bowl, went back for a second and had to stop myself from a third! The only thing I did differently was micro'd the potato to save on time/energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
So, so, so good!!!I used chicken broth, as I didn't have veggie broth. I also added red lentils to the mixture and simmered until they were soft. I didn't bother with the cilantro and seseme oil, and the soup was still very tasty. The lemon juice really kicks up the flavour of the soup. The only problem I have is that the soup isn't kid friendly. My boys wouldn't even try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States