Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I couldn't fine red curry paste in japan so I used Curry Powder. Next time I'll order the paste on the internet in advance. This is an excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLSANTIMORE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was awesome! Changed a few things, I peeled and boiled the sweet potatoes, then blended them with the coconut milk. Put that in with the broth and onions and then added the spices instead of chili paste. As per another review 1 teaspoon ginger, 1 teaspoon chili powder, 1 t- cumin, and 2 t-curry. I also put in cayanne for extra spice. And then thickened it with 1 tablesoon cornstarch. I wanted to make this more like a thai dish than soup. So I made rice on the side and browned some chicken to add at the end. It was fantastic! But, adding the sesame oil flattened the taste so I added more curry to taste and next time I will add some brown sugar to sweeten it up. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is a keeper. Very light, delicate flavor and apetizing texture. I used dried ginger instead of fresh and curry powder instead of paste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Piratefrog
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Made my own vegetable broth with what I had in the refrigerator and instead of curry paste, I added 1 tsp Chili powder, 1 tsp Cumin, and 1 tsp Curry powder as suggested by another reviewer. I also pureed the soup in a blender, as the last step before adding sesame oil and cilantro. Very creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piratefrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This dish was excellent. Spicy without burning and very flavorful. I took it to a potluck and everyone loved it. Easy and not time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwesomeTara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirsdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This soup is great although I thought the sesame oil overwhelmed the soup, but I love thai curry flavor. I blended the soup with about 2/3 of the sweet potatoes and then added the remaining chopped up sweet potatoes for a little texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPDNVR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocahontas, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly and it was amazing. I had one bowl, went back for a second and had to stop myself from a third! The only thing I did differently was micro'd the potato to save on time/energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
So, so, so good!!!I used chicken broth, as I didn't have veggie broth. I also added red lentils to the mixture and simmered until they were soft. I didn't bother with the cilantro and seseme oil, and the soup was still very tasty. The lemon juice really kicks up the flavour of the soup. The only problem I have is that the soup isn't kid friendly. My boys wouldn't even try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
SLOW COOKER OPTION. Put all but coconut milk into slow cooker. Be sure to peel and dice sweet potatoes. Turn on low heat for 7 hours. Process through blender, put back in cooker. Add coconut milk and garnishes (diced red peppers, cilantro, options are endless...) serve with home made bread. Tastes even better when curry marries overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silagh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Delicious and so easy and fast. I prefer this type of soup creamy so I peeled and cubed the sweet potatos then boiled them (faster than baking) I them added the water from boiling to my vegetable broth for more sweet potato flavour and blended. Served with a tbsp of sour cream with diced cilantro whipped in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 131-140 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States