Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by cheesemite
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I had some shrimp stock that I made by boiling shrimp shells with celery and onion, so I used that. I also pureed the soup. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This recipie looked SO good I just had to try it! I'm SO glad I did!! I tweaked it a little... I used College Inn Culinary Broth in the Thai Coconut Curry flavor, the whole 32 oz box, even though it was 4 cups...because I'd pureed everything, it was thick enough to substain the extra cup of liquid. I also used yellow curry instead of red, because - one I'm not a huge curry fan, and two I didn't want it to be too spicy for the kids. I also omitted the cilantro & ginger, since I'm not a fan of either. Everyone LOVED it!! YUMMO! It's definately a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
My husband, father and sons hated this! In fact, the next night when my son didnt want to eat his dinner, my husband threatened to make him eat the "orange" soup...my son ate his dinner. But I thought it was okay. wont make it again. something was off and I followed the recipe exactly. The cilantro is the only thing that made this soup edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
OK, so I didn't have the sesame oil the ginger or the coconut milk.. but I did have coconut cream, madras curry paste and the other ingredients, like others I boiled the sweet potatoes and onion, although I can see the flavor of roast sweet potato would come throw. o n a plus side you can reserve the water for the stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Yumm!! I love this soup! I didn't add the lemon juice yet, I need to get some from the store but even without it, this is a 5 star recipe! I really recommend buying the red curry paste- Thai Kitchen brand- it seems expensive for such a little jar, but once you use it in one recipe you will realize it is magic and find tons of other uses for it! Powdered spices can't compare! Yum yum I might eat the whole pot since my husband swears he hates sweet potatoes, but I have a feeling he is going to convert when he smells this! p.s. look for lite coconut milk, it's worth saving those calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BettyScoop

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was awesome and so easy to make. I, like another reviewer, peeled and diced the sweet potatoes and boiled them rather than baking them and having to scoop out the flesh (less mess). Will be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
It does have quite a bite to it and a lot of people will find it a bit too hot. Peeling and cutting the sweet potato into bite sized pieces and roasting in a bit of olive oil and salt/pepper saves time and mess. Also for those who like ginger but not slices of it could use the grated ginger you can buy in the stores. Then the flavor is there but not in slice formed. I also roasted a bit more potato and puree'd it with some of the broth to slightly thicken up the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Searchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made this weight watcher friendly by using butternut squash instead of sweet potatoes and light coconut milk. I thought it was fabulously, wonderfully delicious!!!! It tasted sinfully rich and was only 1 point per cup! I used an immersion blender to blend all the ingredients into a velvety soup. If you don't have an immersion blender and do a lot of soups get one - they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I couldn't fine red curry paste in japan so I used Curry Powder. Next time I'll order the paste on the internet in advance. This is an excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLSANTIMORE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was awesome! Changed a few things, I peeled and boiled the sweet potatoes, then blended them with the coconut milk. Put that in with the broth and onions and then added the spices instead of chili paste. As per another review 1 teaspoon ginger, 1 teaspoon chili powder, 1 t- cumin, and 2 t-curry. I also put in cayanne for extra spice. And then thickened it with 1 tablesoon cornstarch. I wanted to make this more like a thai dish than soup. So I made rice on the side and browned some chicken to add at the end. It was fantastic! But, adding the sesame oil flattened the taste so I added more curry to taste and next time I will add some brown sugar to sweeten it up. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States