Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
So Good!! I added a cooked chicken breast, cut into pieces. The chicken went well. Next time I think I'll try some green beans in it. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I made this soup and my husband gave it a 10! I added 1 tbsp garlic chili paste, and substituted basil for cilantro. I also added sliced carrots about an hour before I served it. Soup simmered for about 3 hours before serving...was very spicy. To reduce heat cut back on garlic chili paste. Served with nice Zinfandel YUMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is a 4-star recipe as written, but with a few tweaks...it was the best soup I'd had in a while! I boiled the potatoes, onion, and some garlic in chicken broth. When they finished cooking, i mashed them with a potato masher. also, didn't have curry paste or fresh ginger,so I used the spices suggested by other reviewers. it still seemed a little bland, so I added some chili paste and that kicked it up nice.it was still "missing something" until I added sour cream to each bowl as it was being served. That took it over the top! it was incredible!! can't wait to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by cheesemite
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I had some shrimp stock that I made by boiling shrimp shells with celery and onion, so I used that. I also pureed the soup. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This recipie looked SO good I just had to try it! I'm SO glad I did!! I tweaked it a little... I used College Inn Culinary Broth in the Thai Coconut Curry flavor, the whole 32 oz box, even though it was 4 cups...because I'd pureed everything, it was thick enough to substain the extra cup of liquid. I also used yellow curry instead of red, because - one I'm not a huge curry fan, and two I didn't want it to be too spicy for the kids. I also omitted the cilantro & ginger, since I'm not a fan of either. Everyone LOVED it!! YUMMO! It's definately a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
My husband, father and sons hated this! In fact, the next night when my son didnt want to eat his dinner, my husband threatened to make him eat the "orange" soup...my son ate his dinner. But I thought it was okay. wont make it again. something was off and I followed the recipe exactly. The cilantro is the only thing that made this soup edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
OK, so I didn't have the sesame oil the ginger or the coconut milk.. but I did have coconut cream, madras curry paste and the other ingredients, like others I boiled the sweet potatoes and onion, although I can see the flavor of roast sweet potato would come throw. o n a plus side you can reserve the water for the stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Yumm!! I love this soup! I didn't add the lemon juice yet, I need to get some from the store but even without it, this is a 5 star recipe! I really recommend buying the red curry paste- Thai Kitchen brand- it seems expensive for such a little jar, but once you use it in one recipe you will realize it is magic and find tons of other uses for it! Powdered spices can't compare! Yum yum I might eat the whole pot since my husband swears he hates sweet potatoes, but I have a feeling he is going to convert when he smells this! p.s. look for lite coconut milk, it's worth saving those calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BettyScoop

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was awesome and so easy to make. I, like another reviewer, peeled and diced the sweet potatoes and boiled them rather than baking them and having to scoop out the flesh (less mess). Will be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
It does have quite a bite to it and a lot of people will find it a bit too hot. Peeling and cutting the sweet potato into bite sized pieces and roasting in a bit of olive oil and salt/pepper saves time and mess. Also for those who like ginger but not slices of it could use the grated ginger you can buy in the stores. Then the flavor is there but not in slice formed. I also roasted a bit more potato and puree'd it with some of the broth to slightly thicken up the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Searchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States