Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Delicious soup! We made it for friends who are vegetarian and they have made it three times since then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Everyone loved this - even my husband who never eats soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This soup is delicious. I followed another reviewer's tips and used fish sauce and lime juice. I puréed it in the blender after it had cooled a bit and did it in batches. The soup has a beautiful colour and flavour when it's done. Definitely use fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
good, but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was my first try of this soup and it came out great. I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth but and my boyfriend and sister who both love Thai food thought it tasted very authentic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I agree with the majority that this is 5 star. I did use lime juice, and fish sauce as recommended by another reviewer. I only had curry powder so used it and added chili garlic sauce for a little heat. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilma Laura Wiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
My family LOVES this soup. It is easy to fix and is high in fiber. I used sesame oil instead of veg oil to cook the onions and I skipped the sesame oil drizzle. I also put it in a blender to make a smooth soup. It is so tasty! All the flavors blend together beautifully. This is an excellent choice to serve to company as a first course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Scott
Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe, just needs a bit of tweaking. Use lime instead of lemon, fish sauce instead of salt. Puree so you don't get chunks of ginger in your mouth. Tastes fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This soup turned out great when I made it. The flavors combined well, and didn't overpower the sweet potato, which still came through. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, but was out of sesame oil, so didn't do the garnish. I did use a stick blender to puree the soup after all the ingredients had simmered together for about 15 mins. I think that was a very necessary step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This soup was ok, but I think if I were to make it again I would make a few changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Montana, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States