Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I LOVED this soup! I kept craving it the next day and couldn't wait to have it again. I cooked the peeled sweet potatoes directly in the broth/coconut milk. Then I mashed them a little with a potato masher to make a chunky-yet-creamy soup. I loved the combination of coconut, sweet potato, and ginger flavors. My husband thought the ginger was overpowering, but this is probably because I minced the ginger rather than slicing it, so we kept biting into the ginger with every spoonful. Next time, I'll be a good girl and slice the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
this soup is perfect! i didn't change a thing. i tried it before adding the sesame oil, it definitely makes a difference. i put it in bowls then added a drizzle on top. im beginning to like cilantro, so i chopped that real small and sprinkled it in each bowl. cant wait to eat more tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was great. I actually forgot to add the oil and lemon and it was still wonderful - and rather healthy, since I used lite coconut milk. I just rough chopped the onions and ginger, scooped out the cooked potato, and pureed the whole finished product in my food processer. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
WOW!!! My husband doesn't even like sweet potatos and he thought it was pretty great. I followed some of the other reviwers suggestions and pureed it at the end and used lime jouce and soy sauce instead of fish sauce to make it vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong but this was definitely lacking. The sweet potato did not add to the dish at all and I would leave it out all together next time. I also added shrimp and scallops. I used a combo of green and red curry paste so it wasn't too hot for others to eat but I also added sriachi sauce and did not get that hot...I added more to my own bowl. I served over sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I made this recipe with chicken brother and without sesame oil (I couldn't justify $8 for a tablespoon of something I'd never use again). This was definitely not the kind of food I would eat, it was a very unique taste. However, the other person I made this dish for LOVED it. She couldn't stop raving about it and due to the fact I didn't care that much for its taste, insisted she take home the leftovers (and the curry paste)! This was definitely a unique recipe and aside from all the prep work (chopping up vegetables), insanely easy to make. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Delicious soup! We made it for friends who are vegetarian and they have made it three times since then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Everyone loved this - even my husband who never eats soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This soup is delicious. I followed another reviewer's tips and used fish sauce and lime juice. I puréed it in the blender after it had cooled a bit and did it in batches. The soup has a beautiful colour and flavour when it's done. Definitely use fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
good, but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States