Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Easy to make. I don't have a blender and was able to mash the potatoes with a fork. Lots of flavor for such a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My daughter and her kids (3 under 3 yrs old) came for dinner. I thought the soup might be a little too spicy for the kids with 2tbsp of ginger... But they Loved it. The 1 yr old was practically swimming in soup and the twins asked for a 2nd helping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Amazing as it is the only change I would make would be to add peanuts. Otherwise, love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I made this soup this morning and I originally gave it 3 stars because the peanut butter flavor (and smell) was overwhelming when you first add it to the soup. But I left it in the dutch oven for about 3 hours before eating it for lunch and the pb totally mellowed out. The rest of the flavors all blended together. The hint of lime was fantastic. I will definitely make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This was very tasty change from the usual and I found it delicious. I stuck to the recipe ( except for the cilantro, don´t like it!!). The only criticism I have is the vague instruction on the amount of sweet potato. I used one very large one and had to add some more water as it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Followed other's advice and added one can of lite coconut milk. Used a mix of ground red pepper and flakes...not sure it mattered. Was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I used a potato masher once it was cooked and that worked well. Also I put more spice in but I still couldn't taste it. It was just ok to me but my girlfriend liked it pretty well. Maybe it's because I skipped the lime zest in the whipped cream? Also I used 3 tablespoons of dried ginger instead of 2 of fresh but couldn't taste it. Just not a lot of flavor. I may make it again and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I too used 1 tablespoon peanut butter and added 1 can of cocoanut milk. It was very good with that extra Thai flair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Absolutely LOVE this soup! It freezes well so I made huge batches and froze into smaller servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Williston, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
So good! I did a tblsp of peanut butter instead of 1/4 cup, added a 1/3 cup of milk, and cilantro mixed into the soup. I also added some spicy sausage and blenderized that as well. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smnichol522

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States