Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Wow, this is so delicious! I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so I used canned "fire roasted" tomatoes instead and actually blended those into the soup. The lime sour cream was perfect to offset the heat from the ginger and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Thanks Sarbek for a great recipe. I've made this three times. I never actually measure anything and it always turns out wonderfully. I use vegetable bouillon for the broth. It is definitely best to go light on the peanut butter. If you add too much though, you can add just a bit of coconut milk and it will cut back the peanut butter taste. I always add lots of ginger and red pepper. If you freeze your ginger, it can be easily grated. Make sure to use the shredder side or else it is very difficult to get the grater clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calla McNamee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
A delicious twist for sweet potato soup. The peanut butter gave it a protein packed nutty flavour. The lime juice that I used instead of zest worked well and gave it that refeshing twist! I definitely recommend trying this recipe if your looking for something out of the ordinary. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Very simple to make. Delicious. My husband is a meat and potatoes guy and its hard to get him to try different things, but to my surprise he came back to seconds and thirds. The sour cream and tomato on top really make the soup stand out. I didn't have any cilantro. I also used almond butter in place of peanut butter. I will absolutely make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I used acorn squash instead of sweet potato as requested by my honey. Made it as per the recipe and it came out nice. I personally would cut the peanut butter in half but my honey really loved the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Delicious. Used Basil instead of Cilantro and added coconut milk to give it more of a Thai feel. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Very good soup! I didn't have fresh ginger so I used ginger in powder and it came out great, also I used cayenne pepper, why not? This is a keeper and will cook it often this fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Absolutely delicious. The only change I made was that I used vegetable broth and I didn't use the sour cream, instead I added a little half and half to the soup. Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States