Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MORTGAGEBABE
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I browned chicken thighs in with the onions and garlic, toasted (and doubled)the spicies before adding in the sweet potatoes. After reading other reviews I halved the peanut butter and added garam masala.. MMMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORTGAGEBABE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is a keeper! We added some smoked chicken and it paired wonderfully! The only thing I would change is to use plain sour cream as the topper; we weren't fans of the lime zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This is a keeper! Great taste. I skipped the tomatoes and substituted plain Greek yogurt for the sour cream. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
We made it vegan using veg broth and vegan sour cream. We doubled up on the cumin and the pepper flakes. Oh, and we didn't have smooth peanut butter so we used crunchy with no ill effects. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ediemc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Delicious, wonderful contrasts of flavors and textures. I did add just half of the peanut butter called for, and used a medium salsa instead of tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Taste was great, and I did not add peanut butter or lime. I halved it for a dinner for my husband and I (serving size says makes 8 servings) and there wasn't nearly enough. I served it with homemade bread, and next time, I will make the whole batch. I like to use leftover vegetable soups for curry bases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I added a couple tsp of thai seasoning which seemed to bring the flavors together, but as much as I love peanut butter in soup this was a bit heavy handed. If I made again I would only use half as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarMarAree
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Love it!! Followed the recipe exactly. A nice kick to it and the presentation is beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Delicious, added 1/2 teaspoon instead of 1/4 teaspoon of crushed red peppers for the extra Kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This soup is a 10!!!! Exactly what I was looking for. The only change was to add coconut milk and a little more red pepper (crushed, not flakes).I too microwaved the potatoes to speed things up. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States