Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was honestly one of the very best soups I've ever made -- and my friends call me the Soup Nazi. I didn't have cumin in the house at the time, but it was wonderful anyway. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Yummy! I made this for lunch today, but I'm not sure I want to share it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This soup was delicious! I used vegetable broth instead of chicken and also used no fat plain yogurt as the topping with the lime zest. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I've made this soup numerous times and everyone I've made it for loves it. I typically follow the recipe exactly because I don't think it needs any modifications. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
loved this recipe. all of the flavors balance and blend perfectly. good for cold nights and the fall season. loved the limezest/sour cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
All I have to say is WOW!One quick tip: I microwaved my sweet potato until tender and then mashed with a fork to speed up the process. It was a quicker cook time, made the sweet potato easier to puree. SO FAB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Delicious! Followed recipe exactly. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Follow the recipe exactly and you will have a winner! the complex and unusual flavors are a nice surprise. Don't skip anything. Lemon juice and zest does well in a pinch, but the lime really makes this soup special. Be careful to keep the peanut butter at or below the amount in the recipe. I used too much and thought the peanut taste was too strong. (My bad.) I used olive oil instead of butter (which I usually burn!) All my co-workers raved about this soup when I brought it in for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I wasn't sure about this at all. I usually change a bunch of stuff, but I made this one exactly and it was a winner! Didn't think the peanut butter was overpowering at all. You can smell it more than taste it. The tomato, cilantro and sour cream make the soup, so don't omit that step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Awesome!! Super tasty! My husband and I devoured it. The flavors are so intersting. After reading the other reviews I decided to use about 1/2 the peanut butter (large heaping tbls or 1.5 tbls)- the flavor was great, there was only a slight hint of peanut butter that my husband only noticed after I told him. Also I used yams instead of sweet potatoes and so added a tablespoon or so of white sugar and followed the rest exactly. Don't skimp the toppings- the tomatoes add such a delicious and unexpected flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States