Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Great soup! I simmered the sweet potatoes in 3 cups of chicken stock and then added one cup of coconut milk after it was cooked. I cut the peanut butter down to one heaping tblsp. I also bumped up the spices..... I added 1 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp. of curry powder to the onions and garlic after they were cooked. I didn't have a lime, but next time I plan on putting a dollop of yogourt ,with lime zest on top of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This soup was amazing - both my boyfriend and I really enjoyed it. I upped the cumin and peppers as well as added some red curry paste as somebody else suggested. I also only used about 75% of the peanut butter called for. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allie_00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Perfect soup for a rainy day! I doubled the spices, which really kicked it up a notch! I also omitted the lime (didn't have any) but think that flavoring would really put this soup over the top. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I love this soup, and I find that kids I have over for dinner are strangely fond of it. I have used dry ginger and also used a vegetable stock based on sweet potato and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
So good! I didn't have limes but lemon zest/juice did the trick. Heathy, fresh and filling. My man LOVED it. And don't worry about the addition of the peanut butter. I think it makes the soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Houston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I can see how the flavors of this soup could easily turn murky and muddled depending on the amount of peanut butter used in proportion to the sizes of the sweet potatoes... best advice -- start small and add peanut butter *barely* to taste. Love the zing of red pepper coupled with the ginger, tho, and the lime juice/zest really lightens and brightens this creamy soup. Nice variation to the standard nutmeg/cinnamon sweet potato soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I only had two smallish sweet potatoes so I added a few carrots and it is very, very good. I didn't have a lime either but it doesn't seem to need it. It is bitterly cold today and this soup is just what we need to warm us up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I absolutely loved this soup and I don't own a blender. I just baked the potatoes in the oven until they are slightly overdone- I love the carmelized flavor of overdone sweet potatoes. Then I just scooped them out of their skins and followed the recipe as normal, but reduced the peanut butter as others recommend. It is equally delicious with sliced onion and pieces of ginger floating around and gives it a very rustic appearance. Definitely still make if you don't have a blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
prepared this dish exactly how it was written..PERFECT! Husband doesn't care too much for pnut butter..he LOVED THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I followed this recipe to a T both times I made it. The first time it turned out tasting wonderful-- and the texture was spot on. The second time I made it- my potatoes just weren't right and I ended up with a grainy soup. If you decide to cook your potatoes stove top only I recommend giving them a few more minutes to make sure they are really cooked before blending them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hatcherooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States