Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Amazing soup that one craves after having but once... i tweaked upon first making for what i had on hand- switching Greek yogurt for the sour cream, water, soy sauce and extra cumin to compensate for lack of broth and cashew butter for peanut butter. this soup was divine! much appreciation for the recipe which i will add to regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I have only tasted the soup without the lime/sourcream and I found it to be a bit bland. But maybe it will taste different once the toppings are on it. I am planning on substituting red peppers for the tomatoes. And i did not use fresh ginger which might be an issue, only had dried. UPDATE when the toppings are added so is a wonderful flavor. I love this soup, only change, I would use less peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was fabulous!! It smelled so yummy while cooking! I did not have creamy peanut butter, so I used crunchy instead, and added it before I blended with the immersion blender. It gave the soup a little bit of texture/crunch, which I LOVED. I always miss texture in pureed soups, so I probably will deliberately use crunchy next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I have been addicted to this soup ever since I first made it a few months ago. The sweetness of the sweet potatoes and the peanut butter balanced with the lime is soooo good. I use parts of this recipe and parts of a similar one that adds black beans and doesn't blend the soup, which I prefer. I also use chunky peanut butter. If you like this recipe, also check out some of the other variations on it--there's another recipe from All Recipes that I make which uses diced tomatoes, bell pepper, rice, and peanut butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Super tasty! Excellent when served with warm pumpernickel bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Delicious soup! I made it exactly as the recipe indicated and my family loved it. I used 1 1/2 pounds of sweet potatoes and it came out well, but will try 2 pounds next time so it is thicker. There is no need to add salt. If you are watching your sodium and/or fat intake, consider using a sodium and/or fat reduced ingredients. This recipe yields about 2 quarts of soup. In my house this is not enough for 8 servings! Realistically as a main course, expect 4 to 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Made it just as listed. Pretty great. I might kick up the heat next time, but that's a personal preference. VERY quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkvalley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
On my second time, I made this in quantity and gave containers to a a few friends. We all love this soup. It's a very forgiving recipe. I used vegetable stock, grated lemon peel instead of lime zest, did not put tomato on top. I've made this starting with raw sweet potato cubes, and also with microwaved and then mashed sweet potato. My son thought it was a little too peanut butter-y but I liked the noticeably peanut butter taste. Great mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Delicious! Sometimes I add coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States