Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was very nice. I added half a can of coconut milk and tripled the seasonings. We like a little kick but not enough to over power and found tripling it just right. I also added just a bit extra chicken stock so it wasn't so heavy. Lovely flavor and it pleased the family : - )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Delicious! I doubled the cumin and tripled the red pepper flakes. Perfect! The leftovers the next day were even tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Have to say this a very good base recipe. I modified like other users did...used only 1 1/2 tsp of ginger (I had chopped ginger in a jar), crunchy peanut butter instead of creamy, and also added a touch of cinnamon and about a 1/2 tsp of agave nectar to added a little more sweetness. Overall, a great recipe...thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
WOW. This soup was delicious! and we don't normally like sweet potatoes! Per several reviews I made some adjustments to the original recipe: 1) I used 3 medium sized sweet potatoes, 2) substituted 1 cup of chicken broth for 1 can of coconut milk, 3) increased cumin to 1 1/2 tsp, 4) added 1 1/2 tsp red curry paste and omitted the red pepper flakes, 5) subbed fresh ginger for 1 tsp powdered as that's all I had. I didn't have any cilantro either, but I can see how it would taste very good! You can really taste the lime, and next time I might just use half. The fresh tomato is awesome, as well as the lime zest sour cream. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
fabulous exactly as is!! (used 4 small yams instead of 2 large yams) can substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth. use blender, not cuisinart!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I subbed evaporated milk for sour cream, sriracha for pepper flakes, and tahini for peanut butter. Used roasted sweet potatoes because I wanted to do something with leftovers. Excellent, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I prepared this soup for a class project this week, and it was a huge success! Classmates and I had to plan a menu, prepare, and serve a meal to faculty members. We served this soup, bread and a light salad. They all loved it (even those who did not normally like sweet potatoes or spicy food) and it was so easy to put together. I actually forgot to add the peanut butter at the end, but the soup still tasted great. One tip: Unless you really like ginger, you might want to cut it back a bit. I prepared the recipe twice, once to test and once for my project. The second time I used less ginger, but it still tasted a bit strong (however the dollop of sour cream does help calm it). Thank you SARBEK and Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Amazing soup that one craves after having but once... i tweaked upon first making for what i had on hand- switching Greek yogurt for the sour cream, water, soy sauce and extra cumin to compensate for lack of broth and cashew butter for peanut butter. this soup was divine! much appreciation for the recipe which i will add to regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I have only tasted the soup without the lime/sourcream and I found it to be a bit bland. But maybe it will taste different once the toppings are on it. I am planning on substituting red peppers for the tomatoes. And i did not use fresh ginger which might be an issue, only had dried. UPDATE when the toppings are added so is a wonderful flavor. I love this soup, only change, I would use less peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was fabulous!! It smelled so yummy while cooking! I did not have creamy peanut butter, so I used crunchy instead, and added it before I blended with the immersion blender. It gave the soup a little bit of texture/crunch, which I LOVED. I always miss texture in pureed soups, so I probably will deliberately use crunchy next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States