Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
this was so delicious... i made some adjustments based on other reviews and was very pleased with the results. especially cutting back on the peanut butter. this will be a family favourite soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina McKenzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This soup was delicious and easy to make. Since I didn't have fresh sweet potatoes on hand I used a 29 ounce can of sweet potato pieces instead. Also I used only half of the fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Awesome! Exactly the way the recipe calls for. The only thing I didn't have is lime zest, but it's good anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Really yuummy warm and cheap! I had tasted a soup like this at a party and looked for a similar recipe online. This fit the bill and is SO good. This is one recipe I do not alter at all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
It's really great, thanks. From my CSA I seem to have an endless supply of sweet potatoes (North Carolina, it's kind of our thing), and this is one of my favorite ways to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was a great soup. I think the peanut butter overpowered the dish, so I'd either omit it or reduce it by half next time. I also replaced the cumin with madras curry powder because that's what I had. The soup was very smooth once I blended it. Soothing enough for any winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was pretty good and very filling. I thought the ginger was a little overpowering. If I were to make this again I would reduce it to only 1 T. One thing I didn't like was that this soup didn't keep well. I tried reheating it a couple days later and it was more like mush instead of soup. I would probably only make this soup again if I was serving it to enough people to finish it in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I thought this soup was delicious, but my husband was less than thrilled (he's not a big sweet potato fan...maybe I shouldn't have told him what it was!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This soup surprised me! I wasn't expecting it to be that great, and it turned out amazing! My 3 toddlers scarfed it down too! I played with the spices until it was the way I liked it, just a little spicier. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is the perfect soup. It isn't hard, and people are very impressed with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States