Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I thought this soup was delicious, but my husband was less than thrilled (he's not a big sweet potato fan...maybe I shouldn't have told him what it was!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This soup surprised me! I wasn't expecting it to be that great, and it turned out amazing! My 3 toddlers scarfed it down too! I played with the spices until it was the way I liked it, just a little spicier. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is the perfect soup. It isn't hard, and people are very impressed with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Great soup. Nice depth of flavor. Has an excellent Thai taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I'd give this 3.5 stars. The more I ate it, the more I liked it. I could really taste the lime flavor, but didn't get any hint of ginger. The peanut butter taste was stronger than I'd imagined it would be. I recommend substitute chipotle powder for red pepper flakes, as it gives a smokier flavor that goes well with the cumin. Also, this recipe made more like 4 servings if you are serving a full bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Let me say that I'm not a huge fan of soup but this one is delicious! Next time I would add a 3rd large sweet potato as mine turned out a little thin with just two. I also cut the peanut butter in half since I didn't want the peanut taste to overpower everything else. Even my picky 11 year old loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I don't have an electric mixer or a blender, so I had to settle for mashing up the sweet potatoes with a wooden spoon. It probably took a little longer, but I thought the texture ended up great that way. I also left out the tomato, sour cream-and-lime-zest, and cilantro. It was really excellent, though next time I'll do like another reviewer said and halve the amount of peanut butter used. I think I'll also serve it with rice in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
delicious. I wish I would have had the lime and cilantro, probably would have really made the flavors stand out, but this was absolutely delicious. I added a good deal more cumin and some curry powder and a pinch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladihawke22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delicious and easy, even my picky younger brother loves this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I've made this recipe MANY times. I like a thicker soup, so I leave the skins on the sweet potatoes, use an extra sweet potato, and use chunky peanut butter (the full amount called for in the recipe). The cilantro really adds that final touch. It turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States