Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This had a very strong flavor and I will definitely make it again. It was time consuming to make, but worth it. I used 1 tsp. ginger powder instead of fresh ginger. I also left out the cilantro, sour cream, and lime zest. I did not find the peanut butter overpowering as some did, but you have to be a big peanut butter fan to like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was WONDERFUL! I can't get over how awesome this soup was!!!! I only put in half of the peanut butter as others suggested (I used chunky). You could omit the peanut butter and just add crushed peanuts on top as a garnish. I used two chicken bouillon cubes dissolved in four cups of water and I didn't have to add any salt. I also did not feel like dirtying up my blender so I just mashed the potatoes a bit with the spoon once they were soft and ate it chunky - still awesome! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE! I'm passing it on to all my family and friends :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Personally, I thought this recipe was a 5 star, but the family was more inclined to give it a 3 star rating. I did it pretty much exactly as stated I used a ginger that it is a jar instead of fresh ginger root. It was what I had from something else I tried. I used about a tsp. I guess everyones tastes are different. I guess I won't make it unless I cook for someone other than the family. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Holy Cow! My mouth and nose are in love. Thank you for sharing this superb recipe -I can't wait to share it will all my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Yum! I loved this- I had a flop of sweet potato fries recipe earlier this week, so I got to use up those uneaten fries in this recipe. I loved the warmth and depth of it. I added a can of black beans for more texture (just before ladling into the bowls). The cilantro on top is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Loved this soup! Very tasty with the peanut butter, ginger and cilantro. I dropped the tomatoes. Looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This soup was so creative and interesting - but ultimately too rich for my taste. I found the first several bites delicious, and then it became too much. If I make it again I will not use it as a main and serve really small amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Excellent soup! Even without the lime zest it was very tasty. I used vegetable broth instead if chicken to make it vegetarian.... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Delicious soup. I omitted the Roma tomatoes. Cilantro and sour cream with lime zest were nice. I might use more of the spices next time since I like spicy soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made a half recipe because I only had 1 sweet potato. I followed the recipe except I had to use dried ginger. I tasted it before adding the sour cream with lime zest or cilantro (didnt have any tomatoes on hand) and it was good. But with the toppings it took it over the top for me. Yum. Easy cheap and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States