Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was absolutely amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is my first review, and I have to do it because this soup was just amazing! I didn't have cilantro so I left that out, and only put in about a Tbsp of peanut butter because someone else's "peanut butter soup" review made me nervous. I also approximately doubled the chili flakes; I like the flexibility with the spiciness. Anyway, it came out PERFECT, and very easy. The sour cream and tomato topping was great too. Everyone loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Yumm! Like others suggested, I microwaved the potatoes first. One suggestion - mine turned out kind of thick, it would be helpful to have a more specific measure for the potatoes - in weight rather than size, for example.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This came out awesome! I omitted some things like the sour cream, tomato, cilantro and added an extra garlic clove, paprika instead of red pepper flakes and added some jamaican curry powder (OK, i changed it quite a bit but the basis is the same) used crunchy peanut butter with flax seeds--and it was AMAZING. I blended everything in a food processor and the texture came out perfect. Thanks! I'll definitely be making this at my next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by influential81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was fantastic. My wife made it last night, I'm sure we'll see it again soon. Before topping it off, it tasted just like one of our favorite thai dishes in town. In future i think we'll try to mimic that dish by adding chicken and serving with a side of rice. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This had a very strong flavor and I will definitely make it again. It was time consuming to make, but worth it. I used 1 tsp. ginger powder instead of fresh ginger. I also left out the cilantro, sour cream, and lime zest. I did not find the peanut butter overpowering as some did, but you have to be a big peanut butter fan to like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was WONDERFUL! I can't get over how awesome this soup was!!!! I only put in half of the peanut butter as others suggested (I used chunky). You could omit the peanut butter and just add crushed peanuts on top as a garnish. I used two chicken bouillon cubes dissolved in four cups of water and I didn't have to add any salt. I also did not feel like dirtying up my blender so I just mashed the potatoes a bit with the spoon once they were soft and ate it chunky - still awesome! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE! I'm passing it on to all my family and friends :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Personally, I thought this recipe was a 5 star, but the family was more inclined to give it a 3 star rating. I did it pretty much exactly as stated I used a ginger that it is a jar instead of fresh ginger root. It was what I had from something else I tried. I used about a tsp. I guess everyones tastes are different. I guess I won't make it unless I cook for someone other than the family. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Holy Cow! My mouth and nose are in love. Thank you for sharing this superb recipe -I can't wait to share it will all my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Yum! I loved this- I had a flop of sweet potato fries recipe earlier this week, so I got to use up those uneaten fries in this recipe. I loved the warmth and depth of it. I added a can of black beans for more texture (just before ladling into the bowls). The cilantro on top is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States