Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I'd give this 3.5 stars. The more I ate it, the more I liked it. I could really taste the lime flavor, but didn't get any hint of ginger. The peanut butter taste was stronger than I'd imagined it would be. I recommend substitute chipotle powder for red pepper flakes, as it gives a smokier flavor that goes well with the cumin. Also, this recipe made more like 4 servings if you are serving a full bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Let me say that I'm not a huge fan of soup but this one is delicious! Next time I would add a 3rd large sweet potato as mine turned out a little thin with just two. I also cut the peanut butter in half since I didn't want the peanut taste to overpower everything else. Even my picky 11 year old loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I don't have an electric mixer or a blender, so I had to settle for mashing up the sweet potatoes with a wooden spoon. It probably took a little longer, but I thought the texture ended up great that way. I also left out the tomato, sour cream-and-lime-zest, and cilantro. It was really excellent, though next time I'll do like another reviewer said and halve the amount of peanut butter used. I think I'll also serve it with rice in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
delicious. I wish I would have had the lime and cilantro, probably would have really made the flavors stand out, but this was absolutely delicious. I added a good deal more cumin and some curry powder and a pinch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladihawke22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delicious and easy, even my picky younger brother loves this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I've made this recipe MANY times. I like a thicker soup, so I leave the skins on the sweet potatoes, use an extra sweet potato, and use chunky peanut butter (the full amount called for in the recipe). The cilantro really adds that final touch. It turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was absolutely amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is my first review, and I have to do it because this soup was just amazing! I didn't have cilantro so I left that out, and only put in about a Tbsp of peanut butter because someone else's "peanut butter soup" review made me nervous. I also approximately doubled the chili flakes; I like the flexibility with the spiciness. Anyway, it came out PERFECT, and very easy. The sour cream and tomato topping was great too. Everyone loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Yumm! Like others suggested, I microwaved the potatoes first. One suggestion - mine turned out kind of thick, it would be helpful to have a more specific measure for the potatoes - in weight rather than size, for example.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This came out awesome! I omitted some things like the sour cream, tomato, cilantro and added an extra garlic clove, paprika instead of red pepper flakes and added some jamaican curry powder (OK, i changed it quite a bit but the basis is the same) used crunchy peanut butter with flax seeds--and it was AMAZING. I blended everything in a food processor and the texture came out perfect. Thanks! I'll definitely be making this at my next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by influential81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States