Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is the first time I actually made a sweet potato soup using chicken stock as opposed to vegetable stock. I was a little apprehensive at first, but let me tell you, I liked it. It smelt really good cooking and the other flavors seemed to blend and complement each other nicely (the cumin, etc.). Even the sour cream and lime zest was amazing and added a lovely flavour. BUT....what I didn't like and would omit next time is the peanut butter. After reading the other reviews I decided to cut the peanut butter in half. With only half the amount put in, it was still too strong. It took away from the other flavors and brought the soup down a few notches from "restaurant quality" (and why I rated it 4 stars instead of 5). Without the peanut butter, this soup, in my opinion, could be restaurant quality. By the way, I didn't have sour cream but substituted plain yogurt and the 'dollop' in the middle still tasted great (even my husband commented on it). Because of the lime zest power, I don't think it would make a difference using sour cream or yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Mmmmmmm.... I thought this was fantastic, although I skipped the sour cream and tomatoes. It didn't even need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was really good. I made it with veggie stock, but like other people thought it could use just slightly less peanut butter. Think it would also be good to double the spices, but I tend to like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I made this just as presented except for the grated lime zest in the sour cream. It was exceptionally tasty. Both my husband and I enjoyed it. I would have given it 4.9 stars if I could, subtracting just a tiny bit for the order of presentation of the ingredients. The actual dish was very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I loved it up until I added the PB....I only added 1T but that was too much for my palate. I will still eat it but next time I will omit the PB. I added 2 sprinkles of curry powder. Overall it its a very nice soup. xxoox.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Girl Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lovington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HuskerGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Delicious! It's a great warm, comforting, rainy-day kind of soup. The flavor is lovely--it's subtle, so it's not too spicy or too peanut buttery (next time, I might actually bump the spice quotient up a little bit, but I like things spicy.) The tip to microwave the potatoes first was a great one--they cook while you're cooking the onion, garlic, etc. and then you can just scoop the insides right into the pot! Plus, it saves peeling them--something I'll avoid any time I can! One thing...the recipe says it makes 8 servings, but unless you are doing pretty small servings, that's not the case. I serve it as a main dish, and only get 4-5 servings from it. Something to keep in mind if you are also planning to serve it as a stand-alone dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
this was so delicious... i made some adjustments based on other reviews and was very pleased with the results. especially cutting back on the peanut butter. this will be a family favourite soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina McKenzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This soup was delicious and easy to make. Since I didn't have fresh sweet potatoes on hand I used a 29 ounce can of sweet potato pieces instead. Also I used only half of the fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Awesome! Exactly the way the recipe calls for. The only thing I didn't have is lime zest, but it's good anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Really yuummy warm and cheap! I had tasted a soup like this at a party and looked for a similar recipe online. This fit the bill and is SO good. This is one recipe I do not alter at all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States