Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I absolutely Love this soup! Thank you for posting this it is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My husband and 9 month old loved this! Since I was giving some of this to my 9 month old, I left out the red pepper flakes until after I blended the soup and removed some for him. Still had great flavor. I also sub'd lemon for lime and plain yogurt for sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I really liked this. Threw in all my leftover veggies, potatoes, turnips, sweet potatoes. from thanksgiving I ommited peanut butter, I just have never enjoyed peanut tasting food, but it is excellent without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
yum and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Major impressive impact on guests for the same effort as any other day. I still haven't figured out why peanut butter is the alchemical addition that makes it taste like restaurant fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is the first time I actually made a sweet potato soup using chicken stock as opposed to vegetable stock. I was a little apprehensive at first, but let me tell you, I liked it. It smelt really good cooking and the other flavors seemed to blend and complement each other nicely (the cumin, etc.). Even the sour cream and lime zest was amazing and added a lovely flavour. BUT....what I didn't like and would omit next time is the peanut butter. After reading the other reviews I decided to cut the peanut butter in half. With only half the amount put in, it was still too strong. It took away from the other flavors and brought the soup down a few notches from "restaurant quality" (and why I rated it 4 stars instead of 5). Without the peanut butter, this soup, in my opinion, could be restaurant quality. By the way, I didn't have sour cream but substituted plain yogurt and the 'dollop' in the middle still tasted great (even my husband commented on it). Because of the lime zest power, I don't think it would make a difference using sour cream or yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Mmmmmmm.... I thought this was fantastic, although I skipped the sour cream and tomatoes. It didn't even need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was really good. I made it with veggie stock, but like other people thought it could use just slightly less peanut butter. Think it would also be good to double the spices, but I tend to like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I made this just as presented except for the grated lime zest in the sour cream. It was exceptionally tasty. Both my husband and I enjoyed it. I would have given it 4.9 stars if I could, subtracting just a tiny bit for the order of presentation of the ingredients. The actual dish was very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I loved it up until I added the PB....I only added 1T but that was too much for my palate. I will still eat it but next time I will omit the PB. I added 2 sprinkles of curry powder. Overall it its a very nice soup. xxoox.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Girl Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lovington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States