Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I followed this recipe to a T both times I made it. The first time it turned out tasting wonderful-- and the texture was spot on. The second time I made it- my potatoes just weren't right and I ended up with a grainy soup. If you decide to cook your potatoes stove top only I recommend giving them a few more minutes to make sure they are really cooked before blending them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hatcherooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
As a vegetarian dish, this is the perfect blend of protein and vegetables! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegantart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I thought this was delicious! I didn't even add the sour cream, tomato or cilantro..though I'm sure it would have been even better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I decided to make this as the "starter soup" for my division's Thanksgiving feast. I got up 1 hour early to start cooking......I was really rushing things (I am a slow cook). I microwaved the potatoes, cooked up 12 ounces of bacon, and sauteed the onions and garlic cloves in the bacon grease. I then pureed the microwaved sweet potatoes, chicken broth, onions and garlic in a blender (it took several blendings, as I had increased the serving size to 24). I left the skins on the potatoes, added the spices, etc....except that I reduced the peanut butter by about 75%. I didn't measure anything, and didn't even have time to taste it before taking it to work in crock pot to cook for 4 hours. I crumbled the bacon to add as a garnish, along with the roma tomatoes and sour cream/lime zest. OK, I even added a little bacon grease to the soup. I was more than a little terrified to bring an untested, hastily prepared, unusual dish to a work function. Without a doubt, I received more rave reviews than from any other recipe I have ever cooked. Of course, 1/2 the people didn't even want to taste it. But those who did went back for seconds or thirds, and just absolutely raved about it and want me to bring it to future "meals". I tried to generally follow the recipe, except to substitute thyme for the cilantro. As others have said, go easy on the peanut butter. And I agree, the garnish/toppings are essential. I personally loved the addition of the bacon, so consider adding it, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I absolutely Love this soup! Thank you for posting this it is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My husband and 9 month old loved this! Since I was giving some of this to my 9 month old, I left out the red pepper flakes until after I blended the soup and removed some for him. Still had great flavor. I also sub'd lemon for lime and plain yogurt for sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I really liked this. Threw in all my leftover veggies, potatoes, turnips, sweet potatoes. from thanksgiving I ommited peanut butter, I just have never enjoyed peanut tasting food, but it is excellent without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
yum and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Major impressive impact on guests for the same effort as any other day. I still haven't figured out why peanut butter is the alchemical addition that makes it taste like restaurant fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is the first time I actually made a sweet potato soup using chicken stock as opposed to vegetable stock. I was a little apprehensive at first, but let me tell you, I liked it. It smelt really good cooking and the other flavors seemed to blend and complement each other nicely (the cumin, etc.). Even the sour cream and lime zest was amazing and added a lovely flavour. BUT....what I didn't like and would omit next time is the peanut butter. After reading the other reviews I decided to cut the peanut butter in half. With only half the amount put in, it was still too strong. It took away from the other flavors and brought the soup down a few notches from "restaurant quality" (and why I rated it 4 stars instead of 5). Without the peanut butter, this soup, in my opinion, could be restaurant quality. By the way, I didn't have sour cream but substituted plain yogurt and the 'dollop' in the middle still tasted great (even my husband commented on it). Because of the lime zest power, I don't think it would make a difference using sour cream or yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States