Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
On my second time, I made this in quantity and gave containers to a a few friends. We all love this soup. It's a very forgiving recipe. I used vegetable stock, grated lemon peel instead of lime zest, did not put tomato on top. I've made this starting with raw sweet potato cubes, and also with microwaved and then mashed sweet potato. My son thought it was a little too peanut butter-y but I liked the noticeably peanut butter taste. Great mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Delicious! Sometimes I add coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I don't know what I was expecting. This was good not great but ok. I probably would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This soup was GREAT!! I make soup for every family holiday dinner and everyone (adults) loved this. The kids didn't like it ,probably because it was spicy. Because of other reviews, I left out the peanut butter completely. Otherwise I followed the rest of the recipe and it's definately going to be made again. The ginger,the lime,the cumin,the presentation,just great.I forgot to bring the fresh cilantro for the garnish, but it was still one of my favorites without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
It was *ok.* I've tasted other better soups (creamy sweet potato soup) as this one was bland without adding lots of extra spices and it really needed the peanut butter to be toned down. My family ate it but it won't be a repeat recipe at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Slone

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I really liked it. I added a few Tbsps plain yogurt and sour cream when I blended it, and then some peanut butter at the end. It was filling and really good. I used 4 small sweet potatoes. Really really good. Mild Indian quality to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this recipe as directed minus the sour cream/lime zest garnish; I made it to freeze and pack for lunches so the garnish seemed unnecessary. I tried a small bowl before freezing the rest and was unsurprised to find the ginger flavor a bit too strong. I had suspected 2 tablespoons would be too much. Ginger, but decided (since this was my first time making it) to follow the recipe. Next time I will likely only add 1 tablespoon and taste the soup before making additions (adding teaspoon by teaspoon after that point). All in all, however, I think this is a good recipe and would certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
OMG is all I can say! This is THE BEST soup I have ever tasted. I can't get enough of it and its super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
wow indeed! just one little change already had sweet potato pie so i used butternut for this recipe. best butternut soup i've ever had. ps: also held back on the peanut butter, 1 tbs more than plenty but don't leave out as it ads creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Used a little less peanut butter as reccomended. Is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States