Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I don't know what I was expecting. This was good not great but ok. I probably would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This soup was GREAT!! I make soup for every family holiday dinner and everyone (adults) loved this. The kids didn't like it ,probably because it was spicy. Because of other reviews, I left out the peanut butter completely. Otherwise I followed the rest of the recipe and it's definately going to be made again. The ginger,the lime,the cumin,the presentation,just great.I forgot to bring the fresh cilantro for the garnish, but it was still one of my favorites without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
It was *ok.* I've tasted other better soups (creamy sweet potato soup) as this one was bland without adding lots of extra spices and it really needed the peanut butter to be toned down. My family ate it but it won't be a repeat recipe at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Slone

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I really liked it. I added a few Tbsps plain yogurt and sour cream when I blended it, and then some peanut butter at the end. It was filling and really good. I used 4 small sweet potatoes. Really really good. Mild Indian quality to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this recipe as directed minus the sour cream/lime zest garnish; I made it to freeze and pack for lunches so the garnish seemed unnecessary. I tried a small bowl before freezing the rest and was unsurprised to find the ginger flavor a bit too strong. I had suspected 2 tablespoons would be too much. Ginger, but decided (since this was my first time making it) to follow the recipe. Next time I will likely only add 1 tablespoon and taste the soup before making additions (adding teaspoon by teaspoon after that point). All in all, however, I think this is a good recipe and would certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
OMG is all I can say! This is THE BEST soup I have ever tasted. I can't get enough of it and its super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
wow indeed! just one little change already had sweet potato pie so i used butternut for this recipe. best butternut soup i've ever had. ps: also held back on the peanut butter, 1 tbs more than plenty but don't leave out as it ads creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Used a little less peanut butter as reccomended. Is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is THE BEST soup!! I didn't puree the sweet potatoes simply because I'm too lazy. My daughter said to hook her up to a "soup IV" because she loved it so much. Will make tHis recipe often for now on. SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bjoseph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KarenaJane
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I am not a big soup person, but I LOVED this recipe. I thought coconut milk was more appropriate than sour cream...and I doubled or tripled most of the spices to our tastes. I also omitted the tomato because tomatoes in November are usually bleah. The photo with the swirl of coconut milk and cilantro is mine -- it's a beautiful soup! I used a VitaMix to puree it...so the texture was absolutely perfect. I also doubled the entire recipe so there would be enough to freeze....and had enough to share with a friend, as well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenaJane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States