Spicy Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
What a wonderful recipe! I truly enjoyed it. I used brown sugar, instead of the maple sugar and it turned out perfectly. Some of the chips came out a bit soggy while other came out crispy, but nonetheless all taste super yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
OMG! I don't even like sweet potatoes! I get a weekly local organic produce delivery and sometimes I get stuff that I am not hugely fond of. This recipe has changed my opinion of sweet potatoes. I did omit the maple syrup as the potato itself is very sweet. I baked for a few extra minutes on either side and viola! My BF loved it to. A nice side dish to some stir fry veggies and quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Great easy, basic recipe. I used a mandoline for uniform slices of scrubbed, skin on sweet potatoes. I mixed olive oil, sugar free maple syrup, cumin and cinnamon (because I do not like Cayenne) poured into plastice bag to coat potatoes, placed them on foil lined pan sprayed with olive oil, sprinkled top with sea salt and after turning second side with pepermill pepper to taste. Resist the urge to grab and eat. They crisp up better if left on tray for a few minutes. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
not that great, will not be doing these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
It has a delicious flavor! They do have to be cut really thin to become crispy, but I'd even just dice the potatoes, throw on the sauce and bake it like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is a great and easy recipe. I really liked the flavor of the olive oil and maple syrup together. My wife and children are not big on spicy so I used black pepper instead and it still tasted really good and full of flavor. I will say I couldn't get them crispy in the oven. I baked them much longer than the recipe calls for and even had to use the broiler which helped a little but I think the deep fryer is the only way to get that perfect crisp. I intend to do it like that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very time consuming but good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuffsalush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I followed this to the "t" and my chips came out super soggy. They had a good taste, but we had to eat them w/ a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Was expecting more flavor and punch from this recipe. Ok. Not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I made three batches of these and nothing I did would make them crisp up. I am new to cooking sweet potatoes so maybe I was doing something wrong. We liked the flavor, so if I make again I will probably just dice and roast in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States