Spicy Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I used a mandolin to make nice even slices. I also brushed both sides of the sweet potatoes with the oil, maple syrup before they went in the oven. This made it easier and faster when I turned them. Some were soggy and some crispy, but they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is a good recipe! I didn't have any maple syrup so I used honey instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I simply cannot give this recipe a 5 rating. While they are spiced right, they were simply soggy and not crispy at all. I followed the directions and baked them the posted length of time. I wound up having to stick them under the broiler just to get them to be edible. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I followed the directions, and they were a soggy mess. I gave them more time in the oven. They didn't turn the color in the photo. They weren't crisp at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I got soggy chips and I left them in twice as long as called for. These need to be sliced to an eighth of an inch if your going to get chips. The spice level is good for me but too much for my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I love oven-baked "fries" (either sweet or white potatoes), either thinly sliced or in wedges. A suggestion for those whose potatoes stuck to the foil... Use Release, which has a nonstick side, and works very well. I'll be making this recipe when our really hot weather turns cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Awesome recipe! I had to alter. I used honey in place of maple syrup and coconut oil in place of oil. These were sooo good! My husband and 13 yr old son loved them! Baked on a stone is the way to go! Baked 7 min. flipped and baked 6 min. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I have been making what WE CALL "SWEET POTATO COOKIES" for years, but they don't need the olive oil or the maple syrup. I just slice them, sprinkle them with salt and bake them. They don't even stick to the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
How thin/thick you slice potatoes makes a difference. I experimented...too thin...burnt. Ones that turned out well were about 4mm...hope that helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Logan96

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
turned out too soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States