Spicy Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was a waste of time. My chips were soggy even though they were paper thin and the flavour was just weak. Will not make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
These "Spicy Sweet Potato Chips" were fabulous! I left out the maple syrup because we don't like sweet food in our home. I can hardly wait to make these again! Next time I will be inclined to add a few more spices because we like spicy food in our home. Thanks JENNYWRITES for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
These were very good and easy to make. I will definitely make them again, but I will not add cayenne pepper anymore...too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I really like these the taste was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Awesome! I misjudged the amount of sweet potatoes in 3 large as I had one huge one. I could have made double the amount of potatoes, but we both absolutely loved it. They took longer that the time posted, but my oven is iffy so no big deal. Will I make these again. Yes!!!! I did use sea salt instead of regular salt. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
My family loved it! My reluctant teenage son was soon eating them out of the serving dish like french fries. After reading the reviews of soggy results I decided to cook the potatoes at 425 degrees convection for ten minutes each side. Also, I have read other sweet potato fry recipes where adding corn starch to increase crispiness was recommended. So I cut the potatoes, lightly sprinkled with corn starch and then tossed in a bowl. I mixed the syrup, olive oil and cayenne pepper and a little sea salt in a separate small bowl. Then I poured this mixture over the potatoes and tossed with my hands until evenly coated. I put the sliced potatoes flat on a cookie sheet covered with aluminum foil and sprayed with Pam, then baked as above. Easy clean up. All the original ingredients, just a slight change in the preparation and baking. They were delicious! This will become a staple. P.S. I used a crinkle cutter to slice potatoes which I believe helped them to crisp up also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I liked the flavor of these chips but they were too soggy. I put them under the broiler after baking and they still were too soggy, so I left them in a 180-degree convention oven for 2 hours. Huge disappointment, will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I used a mandolin to make nice even slices. I also brushed both sides of the sweet potatoes with the oil, maple syrup before they went in the oven. This made it easier and faster when I turned them. Some were soggy and some crispy, but they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is a good recipe! I didn't have any maple syrup so I used honey instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I simply cannot give this recipe a 5 rating. While they are spiced right, they were simply soggy and not crispy at all. I followed the directions and baked them the posted length of time. I wound up having to stick them under the broiler just to get them to be edible. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States