Spicy Stuffed Chicken Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I really liked this dish, but I made a lot of modifications. I didn't have any sausage, so I omitted that. Based on other reviews I browned the chicken first & then sauteed the onions & peppers. I also added some celery & garlic and deglazed the pan with a little white wine. I used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes & topped with italian parsley. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooker K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I have to put myself in the same hero camp as "Bytesized." My husband thinks meat stuffed meat is the best invention since bacon-wrapped anything! We really enjoy the combination of chicken and Italian sausage. The things I changed were to use 3 hot and 3 sweet sausages (personal preference), I used a casserole dish with a lid, and I used a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes so we had more stuff to spoon over the chicken. I think the covered dish ensured that the sausage cooked thoroughly and the onions got nice and soft. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was good and defiantely different. I also had to use toothpicks to hold chicken together. I think less sauasge may have been easier to deal with. I am not a great fan of italian sausage but it was good prepared this way. Family was pleased. I may try with regular ground sausage. Also would serve with angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Interesting idea, but it's a little pointless to stuff chicken with sausage. While eating it, it felt like I needed to choose one over the other. Both tasted good separate. I used a chicken sausage that had bell pepper and onion already mixed in with it (my favorite), but I don't think I'll do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wallace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I don't think the flavor combination works very well here. If we decide to make it again, we will probably vut the green peppers and put the spices inside the chicken for maximum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoneSideways

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Tough to get the sausage fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I used chicken breast instead of thigh, and just wrapped it around the sausage, and cooked it until the sausage was 160 degrees. It turned out great! Definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was delicous and easy to make on a weeknight. I think next time I will use boneless skinless chicken breasts insted of thighs because none of us are dark meat fans, but it was definately a hit as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Was a bit hit with everyone! I used large Skinless Boneless Breasts though, as I couldn't find skinless boneless thighs at the local Safeway. I think we all preferred the Breasts anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Millersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I wasn't a huge fan. I cooked it in my crockpot for 7 hours (low) like someone suggested. It did come out nice and tender, but wasn't thrilled about the flavor of sausage with the chicken. On the other hand, my husband loved it. He suggested I try using something else to stuff it with next time. I did love the sauce though. I used the diced tomatoes (can with oregano, basil, etc.) and for more sauce used Goya tomato sauce (I like the flavor of this sauce). My husband used the sauce on the leftover angel hair (I had as a side with it) and he loved it. I'll try this again, minus the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States