Spicy Stuffed Chicken Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I browned the chicken and onions on the stovetop, plus I put the extra bulk italien sausage right into the pan. Then I added the other ingrediants, covered it, and cooked it for 1 hour. Finally, I added 1/2 bag of egg noodles and chicken stock and cooked it again on the stove top until the noodles were done. A great one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I am horrible at deboning chicken, so I just ripped everything out and rolled the sausage into the thighs and closed it with a toothpick. Still tasted great, but I would have liked it to be a little spicier. Next time I will double the crushed red pepper, and maybe add some chilli powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I cooked this dish tonight for my family and it came out GREAT. The favor was different from anything I have yet to try. I did adjust my recipe, I used canned tomatoes that had green chiles in it. It was SPICY the way I like most things. I will be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Optimus Dime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I was looking for a change of pace from my usual chicken recipes and found it in this! I actually only had chicken breasts so I cut in the pockets. I also used salsa. I added mozzerella because my family eats cheese on EVERYTHING. I will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I actually enjoyed this recipe. My family did not. It's a different flavor but as I said, one I enjoyed. I did use a red pepper instead of green because I like the sweetness of the red pepper. I also used fire roasted dice tomatoes. The fire does'nt mean hot, it means more of a grilling...blackened...I will not make this again only because it's too much for one person but I did enjoy the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Imperial, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
These were really good. I deboned the thighs myself and used toothpicks to hold in the sausage. I browned the thighs and then tried cooking them in the oven for about 45 minutes. They still weren't cooked so I transferred them back to the saute pan and finished them on the stove in about 5 minutes. I also seasoned the peppers and onions with ground red pepper. I'll add lots more crushed red pepper next time. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Fabulous idea! I used 4 chicken thighs but the ones locally are always deboned by not leaving a pocket. I wrapped the thigh meat around an equal length of (venison) Italian sausage and tied securely with kitchen twine. Then I sauteed in olive oil until well browned on all sides. For the 4 thighs, I used a pint of homecanned spaghetti sauce, allowing me to delete the pepper, onion and seasoning. I did add the crushed red pepper (great idea!), then covered and simmered on med. low for 30 minutes. Served on top of angel hair pasta and hubby, who vowed it would be dry, was pleasantly surprised. Remember to remove kitchen twine before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I really liked this dish, but I made a lot of modifications. I didn't have any sausage, so I omitted that. Based on other reviews I browned the chicken first & then sauteed the onions & peppers. I also added some celery & garlic and deglazed the pan with a little white wine. I used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes & topped with italian parsley. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooker K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I have to put myself in the same hero camp as "Bytesized." My husband thinks meat stuffed meat is the best invention since bacon-wrapped anything! We really enjoy the combination of chicken and Italian sausage. The things I changed were to use 3 hot and 3 sweet sausages (personal preference), I used a casserole dish with a lid, and I used a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes so we had more stuff to spoon over the chicken. I think the covered dish ensured that the sausage cooked thoroughly and the onions got nice and soft. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was good and defiantely different. I also had to use toothpicks to hold chicken together. I think less sauasge may have been easier to deal with. I am not a great fan of italian sausage but it was good prepared this way. Family was pleased. I may try with regular ground sausage. Also would serve with angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States