Spicy Stuffed Chicken Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by krenetolbert
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I got a standing ovation with this recipe! My son said it was like Olive Garden at home! lol I tweeked with marinating the chicken in spicy Italian Dressing before stuffing and baking. Also intensify the flavor I added a can of seasoned tomatoes! it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krenetolbert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Photo by santana
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I had to add my touch to it of course. I fried the hot italian sausage links and seasoned it with all purpose seasoning lawrys,red pepper (grounded), Adobo (had to add latin flavor), and pepper. Then i season the chicken with lawry's all purpose seasoning, adobo, italian seasoning, oregano seasoning, pepper, red pepper, salt, maybe some others. then i brown the chicken a little just for flavor. i layout the chicken in the baking pan over the aluminum foil stick the italian sausage in the chicken i will recommend you not to forget the toothpicks, i did lol. so it was a little difficult. chopped up the green peppers and onions put it around the chicken. i added a little bit of chicken stock so the chicken can stay moist. then put 14oz of diced italian tomatoes over the chicken. set the oven to 350 and let it cook for 50min. every1 loved it. for the side dishes i just made rice and had the garlic bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good and easy to make. Followed some of the modifications that others have made. Used salsa instead of diced/canned tomato. Also added jalapenos and mushrooms in addition to the onion and green peppers. Sauted the veggies for a little bit with leftover sausage and garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and chilli pepper. Omitted the italian seasoning. Came out good and juicy! Boyfriend said he liked it a lot. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Wow oh wow a keeper I made with 4 thighs I removed the bones meself hot Italian sausage in two mild Italian sausage in two used toothpicks to hold closed covered with diced red peppers and onions and a can of diced tomatoes with Basil garlic & oregano red pepperflakes baked covered half the time finished uncovered. Served on top of pan fried 1/2" thick slices of polenta. Man says I a gourmet cook think he licked the plate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mechelle Banville

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lucedale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I did not care for how this dish looked when it was finished. Too messy. I should have read the reviews prior to making as someone suggested browning the chicken first. It would have made the chicken more appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great recipe, nice and spicey with great flavor from the tomatoes. I used stewed, only because I didn't have diced, but it was still great. I added just a few other spices (fennel seed, oregeno, and a little basil). I did brown them first with the onions and peppers for about 5-6 minutes, then baked everything together for around 50-55 minutes to 170 degrees. Will make again and recommend it highly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent dinner. I improvised a bit. I had fresh tomatoes I needed to use up (instead of canned). I had no green peppers so I sliced carrots instead. Because the tomatoes were fresh I was worried about the moisture content so I added a can of chicken broth to be safe. I cooked it uncovered for about an hour. The chicken was done but the carrots took a while to soften. If I did it again I would make the carrot slices thinner to ensure they cooked in the same time as the chicken. I also had some cilantro in the fridge so toward the end of the cooking time I chopped that up and threw it on top. I don't think it made much of a difference on the flavor. The kids (teenagesr) and my husband (Mr. Finicky) all loved it served over rice with a green salad and oven baked artichoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Scillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This would have been so easy had I thawed out the BONELESS chicken...but even with the extra work of deboning the chicken thighs, I thoroughly enjoyed this meal! The flavor is basically like a chicken/sausage cacciatore. Because the spicy sausage has such a red tint to it, I was unsure whether it had actually cooked all the way through, so just to be on the safe side I nuked the chicken for about a minute to make sure it was done. I actually halved the recipe, but used a 14-oz can of tomatoes because I wanted to be able to spoon some over some pasta. Next time I'll try a lower fat turkey sausage to save a few calories, but as a simple treat this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My husband loves this recipe. I did change it a little to make the dish easier to make. I used ground italian sausage. I divided it up into even portions, placed the portion of ground sausage on top of the thigh and held it together with a toothpick. (Almost like a taco). When your ready to serve just pull out the toothpick. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Tasty! I changed the quanties on some of the ingredents. Added a little more tomatoe and Italien seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States