Spicy Stuffed Chicken Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Wow oh wow a keeper I made with 4 thighs I removed the bones meself hot Italian sausage in two mild Italian sausage in two used toothpicks to hold closed covered with diced red peppers and onions and a can of diced tomatoes with Basil garlic & oregano red pepperflakes baked covered half the time finished uncovered. Served on top of pan fried 1/2" thick slices of polenta. Man says I a gourmet cook think he licked the plate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mechelle Banville

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lucedale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I did not care for how this dish looked when it was finished. Too messy. I should have read the reviews prior to making as someone suggested browning the chicken first. It would have made the chicken more appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great recipe, nice and spicey with great flavor from the tomatoes. I used stewed, only because I didn't have diced, but it was still great. I added just a few other spices (fennel seed, oregeno, and a little basil). I did brown them first with the onions and peppers for about 5-6 minutes, then baked everything together for around 50-55 minutes to 170 degrees. Will make again and recommend it highly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent dinner. I improvised a bit. I had fresh tomatoes I needed to use up (instead of canned). I had no green peppers so I sliced carrots instead. Because the tomatoes were fresh I was worried about the moisture content so I added a can of chicken broth to be safe. I cooked it uncovered for about an hour. The chicken was done but the carrots took a while to soften. If I did it again I would make the carrot slices thinner to ensure they cooked in the same time as the chicken. I also had some cilantro in the fridge so toward the end of the cooking time I chopped that up and threw it on top. I don't think it made much of a difference on the flavor. The kids (teenagesr) and my husband (Mr. Finicky) all loved it served over rice with a green salad and oven baked artichoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This would have been so easy had I thawed out the BONELESS chicken...but even with the extra work of deboning the chicken thighs, I thoroughly enjoyed this meal! The flavor is basically like a chicken/sausage cacciatore. Because the spicy sausage has such a red tint to it, I was unsure whether it had actually cooked all the way through, so just to be on the safe side I nuked the chicken for about a minute to make sure it was done. I actually halved the recipe, but used a 14-oz can of tomatoes because I wanted to be able to spoon some over some pasta. Next time I'll try a lower fat turkey sausage to save a few calories, but as a simple treat this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My husband loves this recipe. I did change it a little to make the dish easier to make. I used ground italian sausage. I divided it up into even portions, placed the portion of ground sausage on top of the thigh and held it together with a toothpick. (Almost like a taco). When your ready to serve just pull out the toothpick. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Tasty! I changed the quanties on some of the ingredents. Added a little more tomatoe and Italien seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is a delicious recipe! However, I didn't have any diced tomatoes, so I used roasted red peppers that I had left from a previous recipe. I sprinkled olive oil all over and baked it. It came out great! Hubby loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight. I chose to use thighs that have the bone still because I think they have more flavor. I just cut around the bone a little to create a small pocket. I chopped up yellow bell pepper and sweet onion and browned it along with the italian sausage. I let my thighs marinate in garlic powder, italian seasoning, and crushed red pepper for about 30 minutes before stuffing. I used 2 cans of tomatoes with diced bell pepper and onions and let that simmer on the stove top with half of my browned sausage mixture. After it cooled a down I put the stuffed thighs in the pan and poured the tomatoes over it. I sprinkled red pepper flakes over top of it, covered, and baked! I'm excited to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Zeta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
We really liked this dish. I added mozzarella cheese and used tenderized chicken breasts in lue of thighs. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States