Spicy Stuffed Chicken Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I have fixed this dish since I was a child when my mother would ask me to start a meal when she was busy ( we had a motel in a resort area where summers meant our livelihood). I would use chicken thighs with skin and bone, I never removed the bone...I am American born, but learned early on that half the flavor in cooking any type of protein is lost with the removal of the bone. I would lightly dust with flour the thigh pieces and brown both sides, remove, set aside. Remove casing from Italian Sweet sausage and cut in 1" pieces and sauté till almost cooked (then remove). I used 3 peppers...red...yellow and orange, NO green (too strong) and diced in 1 inch pieces. Spray dish (10X13) with a popular type spray "oil". Add your chicken to the casserole, the sliced sausage (none of this "stuffing" silliness, just sprinkle the sausage over the chicken, sprinkle Italian seasoning over all (great invention) and red pepper flakes over all.... taste (be careful). Pour TWO cans of diced tomatoes.....bake at 350....2 hours...serve over homemade or dried pasta. Serve with a crisp Italian type salad and a good crispy hot bread or roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I am always looking for new ways to change up the same old meat. This was great. I didn't have Italian sausage so I used Link Chorizo instead, also used fresh cherry tomatoes. This will definitely be made again in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Mixed spinach with sausage to add a little green and flavor. Was very good. My husband raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
These were very good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was a good recipe. I used boneless skinless breasts mild italian sausage because its what I had on hand. Also sprinkled with italian cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was so good! My fiance (then boyfriend) still talks about this dish... it was one of the first things I cooked for him! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Plata, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Exceptional and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krenetolbert
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I got a standing ovation with this recipe! My son said it was like Olive Garden at home! lol I tweeked with marinating the chicken in spicy Italian Dressing before stuffing and baking. Also intensify the flavor I added a can of seasoned tomatoes! it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krenetolbert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Photo by santana
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I had to add my touch to it of course. I fried the hot italian sausage links and seasoned it with all purpose seasoning lawrys,red pepper (grounded), Adobo (had to add latin flavor), and pepper. Then i season the chicken with lawry's all purpose seasoning, adobo, italian seasoning, oregano seasoning, pepper, red pepper, salt, maybe some others. then i brown the chicken a little just for flavor. i layout the chicken in the baking pan over the aluminum foil stick the italian sausage in the chicken i will recommend you not to forget the toothpicks, i did lol. so it was a little difficult. chopped up the green peppers and onions put it around the chicken. i added a little bit of chicken stock so the chicken can stay moist. then put 14oz of diced italian tomatoes over the chicken. set the oven to 350 and let it cook for 50min. every1 loved it. for the side dishes i just made rice and had the garlic bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good and easy to make. Followed some of the modifications that others have made. Used salsa instead of diced/canned tomato. Also added jalapenos and mushrooms in addition to the onion and green peppers. Sauted the veggies for a little bit with leftover sausage and garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and chilli pepper. Omitted the italian seasoning. Came out good and juicy! Boyfriend said he liked it a lot. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States