Spicy Strawberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2000
This is delicious, just enough of a special taste to make it different than your run-of-the-mill fruit salads! Suez
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
We really enjoyed this salad. I may cut down on the sugar next time but, otherwise, it was delicious and attractive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
this is a great salad! i reduced the oil by a lot - 3/4 cup seemed like too much. i used maybe 2 - 3 tablespoons. didn't have any mustard powder so i used regular mustard - seemed to work okay (make sure you stir it so there aren't any lumps!. didn't have any poppy seeds either so i used sesame. left out the pecans and used a bit of crumbled blue cheese instead. i used spinach instead of mixed greens (hey, this is like a whole different recipe with all these changes!) this salad isn't really "spicy" though, but it's good if you like strawberries and want to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I made the dressing for this salad and used it on spinach, mangoes and candied pecans and it was delicious. Every single person I made this salad for has asked for the recipe since then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This salad is absolutely wonderful. Crisp, sweet, crunch and colorful. I may cut down a bit on the sugar next time, but otherwise fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This salad was FANTASTIC! I could have eaten the whole thing myself it was that good and guilt-free too. I did reduce the sugar to 1/3 c which seemed to be just right for sweetness. Also, I think my mustard and garlic powders may have been kind of old, since I didn't really notice the mustard flavor and I ended up adding an extra 1/2 tspn of the garlic powder. We will absolutely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
I had a salad similar to this at a party, and I had to find a recipe for it! This one is it! Such a different combination of flavors, making for a memorable, distinctive salad. Thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
What a great salad! I'm not sure why it's called 'spicy' but it's the best strawberry salad recipe I've come across. Be sure to whisk or beat the dressing thoroughly - the sugar doesn't dissolve properly if not mixed well. The dressing tastes even better the second day. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I used extra virgin reserve olive oil in this recipe as I always do for salad dressings because it is the best, however, next time I make this I will use vegetable oil as the recipe states. The olive oil was too heavy for the salad and I felt like I didn't do it justice. Toast the pecans in the microwave for a minute and a half for another added dimension. Next time I will cut the sugar down even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I used mixed brands of fresh lettuce from our garden and skipped the mushrooms. I also toasted my pecans before adding them to this salad. It was positively the BEST salad we've ever eaten. It was like something we'd have ordered in a fancy restaurant. Very impressive! The dressing was a wonderful compliment to the berries & salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States