Spicy Strawberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This is the BEST Strawberry Salad on this site!!! The dressing is what does it - although I leave out the poppy seeds - just personal preference! My hubby doesn't care for strawberry's but will eat this salad without a problem, so will my 2 y/o. I've also added some chopped avocado or left out the mushrooms if I didn't have any....still a great salad! It's fine with just romaine lettuce and instead of chopped pecans (yummy) I find myself tossing in a handful of sunflower seed for a change also. I prefer the dressing at room temperature and I think it thickens up bit this way also. My alsolute favorite salad and it's converting alot of friends and family to salad eating too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This is a great salad! The dressing seemed a little thick, so I added extra vinegar and oil, I also exchanged the pecans for almonds and used spinach with the salad greens. We loved it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
WOW! This was DELICIOUS! I used slightly less than 3/4 cup of vegetable oil, all of the sugar (I first tried it with less and added in the rest as we liked it sweeter), deleted the poppy seeds and mushrooms, toasted the pecans and added crumbled feta cheese. The strawberries were just perfect, I used my Pampered Chef egg slicer to make perfect slices after I capped them and although I used mixed greens, I think just using spinach would have made a prettier presentation. Thank you Leslie for the awesome post! We served this with "Perfect Baked Potato" and "Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks" from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Pretty good... I liked the combination of strawberries and mushrooms and poppyseeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
OK! As a lot of the other "raters", I made a few changes: sliced almonds instead of pecan, 1/2 cup of oil, 1/4 cup sugar and since I didn't have dry mustard, I used a teaspoon of a wholegrain dijon mustard and I left the mushrooms out. It was great! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Delicious! I made this for 30 people in the office and it got many thumbs up! It will be a regular addition to make a special meal really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I used mixed brands of fresh lettuce from our garden and skipped the mushrooms. I also toasted my pecans before adding them to this salad. It was positively the BEST salad we've ever eaten. It was like something we'd have ordered in a fancy restaurant. Very impressive! The dressing was a wonderful compliment to the berries & salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I used extra virgin reserve olive oil in this recipe as I always do for salad dressings because it is the best, however, next time I make this I will use vegetable oil as the recipe states. The olive oil was too heavy for the salad and I felt like I didn't do it justice. Toast the pecans in the microwave for a minute and a half for another added dimension. Next time I will cut the sugar down even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
What a great salad! I'm not sure why it's called 'spicy' but it's the best strawberry salad recipe I've come across. Be sure to whisk or beat the dressing thoroughly - the sugar doesn't dissolve properly if not mixed well. The dressing tastes even better the second day. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States