Spicy Steamed Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Here is my 5 star version. Put a ceramic plate in the refrigerator to chill. Use the largest raw shrimp you can find, ok if it is frozen; I like the 13-15 shrimp per lb. for a minimum size. Defrost, de-vein and shell. Rinse, pat dry and sprinkle lemon-pepper, Old Bay and whatever dry-rub you like to make spicy. I use Steve Raichlin's Creole Rub. Put a 12 oz flavorful beer, a splash of vinegar and 2 tablespoons of Old Bay in a giant steamer pot with a lid; when it begins to boil, set each shrimp in the steamer basket. Put the lid back on, and in 3 minutes, you will have the most delish shrimps ever. Eat one, then spread the rest on the cold plate, stick in the frig for 1 hour minimum, 4 hrs. max. In the meantime, make the cocktail sauce: I use a refrigerated brand of local horseradish that doesnt even have a brand name, it is basically coarsely cut fresh ground horseradish with a little vinegar and soybean oil. if you want GOOD REAL HOT cocktail sauce, REAL horseradish is required, not the processed in the salad dressing aisle. I use any prepared cocktail sauce from a bottle, doesn't matter what kind; and mix equal parts fresh horseradish with the prepared sauce. You could use ketchup. Whatever! Then, I add the juice of a small lemon, whip it and whip it good and stick it in the frig (while the shrimpies are cooling down) to mix all those fine flavors. About an hour later my husband of 9 years begs me to marry him all over again. That is all. Good luck and have fun. Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Delicious, quick & easy. I followed other reviewers suggestions and just put an inch of water in the bottom of my pot. The shrimp steamed in a colander set inside of the pot. I love Old Bay so I sprinkled it liberally over the top of the shrimp before steaming. Much of it gets peeled away when you're eating the shrimp anyway. Once the shrimp turned pink (about 3 minutes) I pulled out the colander and set it in a bowl of ice for about 5 minutes to cool the shrimp. (I didn't want to rinse away all the spice.) They were just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Mmmm, just what I was looking for! Really easy, I did add some vinegar to steamer water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This is an awesome recipe! No need to make changes, just use the amount of Old Bay to your taste. I added fresh veggies (summer squash, green pepper, snowpeas, etc) on top of the shrimp. OMG, Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geribug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rixford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Good. Something different to do with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Wow - doesn't get any easier than this. Made several times now, I use less Old bay and add garlic salt. For a twist, try using your favorite BBQ dry rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Claire

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
steamed shrimp are ok, but being from Delaware, you DONOT ad the Old Bay till the end, take off the heat, keep covered and add. Even if you boil the shrimp(OK), drain and put back in pot and add the OLD BAY; I worked for steamed crab restaurant, they didnot add the seasoning till the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Very tasty but I think my way is 5 stars instead of 4. I roast the shrimp at 400 degrees just until pink on a baking sheet with a little salt, pepper, and olive oil. Then I season as the recipe suggests. Delicious and more depth of flavor when roasted instead of steamed. Also, I think the texture is better this way, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
fantastic option over pan frying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I would suggest to use peeled shrimp in this recipe as all the flavoring stuck to the shells as you peeled them. Will def use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States