Spicy Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This just wasn't to our liking. The only change I made was in the cooking order. I sauteed the squash, onion, jalapeno together to keep all of their flavors and then browned my ground beef and drained it. I added a little Creole seasoning for oomph. While it wasn't bad, we all agreed it just wasn't something we will have again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
My husband and I loved this dish! I used chayote squash instead of yellow because it was on sale. I also used ground turkey and only one egg. It wasn't really very spicy, but it tasted really good. My husband hates squash, but he thought this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Great recipe!. My 9 yr old loved it!. I did not have jalapenos so I added about 1 tsp thyme and 1 teaspoon Cajun seasoning for a kick. Also added a little pepper/garlic salt. Also used panko instead of crackers and drizzled butter over them. Thanks Liz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Fontaine Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
I thought I was chopping up jalapenos, but they were really hot, hot peppers, that my husband got from a cajun woman at work. I doubled the recipe and thought that the peppers were small so I chopped up 6. My husband asked how many of the peppers I chopped up, and after he quit laughing he said I hope we can eat it. But after it was all said and done, he said not to change a thing! LOL Now, my 4yr old didn't touch it, but the adults loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
I read the previous reviews and made a few changes based on what ppl were saying about it not having flavor. Instead of sauteing the squash in butter, I cooked one slice of bacon in a non-stick pan first and then sauteed the squash in the bacon drippings. I also added a big pinch of ground thyme to the squash mixture. Instead of cooking the ground beef with jalapenos, I stirred in a drained can of Rotel tomatoes after I mixed in the eggs and mayonaise. It was GREAT! Even my husband, who does not like squash, loved the casserole! (of course I didn't tell him it was in there!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This was easy to make and very good. My husband loved it! It could use a tad more flavor, but seasoning with a little salt and pepper will do the trick (and maybe garlic powder?). This is also a great Atkins/low-carb recipe -- the only thing I had to omit was the crackers from the top, which I replaced with more cheddar cheese! A welcome change from your ordinary meat and noodles casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Where is the flavor??? This will be deleted from my box right away. I love squash and thought I would give this one a try but it was the first and last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joannekennedy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I have a finicky 14 year old daughter that will not eat vegetables, so I am always trying to come up with creative ways to sneak them in. This worked. Instead of slicing the squashed I grated it in the food processor to make it even less noticeable. I also substituted 1 can of diced green chilies instead of the jalapeno's, because my family doesn't like things too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Excellent!!! Used winter Banana Squash and sliced and browned Italian sausage, a can of diced green chilis, "Mexican seasoning" and extra cheese (of course!~~) and was wonderful! Also, I put just a little bit of shredded cheddar on top of the cracker crumbs for added "eye appeal". Will share recipe as well as make for church potlucks. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Needed something... I know! Flavor! Claims to be spicy, NOT even! It sounded like it would be really tasty (love casseroles) but was very bland. Leftovers went straight to the trash. Won't make this again. Good dish for fussy kids, bad dish for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States