Spicy Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Good "base" recipe; I added my own substitutions which gave it some great flavor. I used leftover taco beef and instead of cracker crumbs I used crushed taco shells. Turned out okay - kind of dry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by boynxtdr187
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Used light sour cream instead of mayo and added an extra jalapeño...DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Instead of regular mayo I used garlic-herb lemonaise (Ojai Cook Brand). This added a great flavor to the dish. I served over some fresh baby spinach and orzo pasta. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
We really liked it, but had to make some changes since we have to eat gluten free. First, as a prefrence, i used a can of undrained rotel rather than the jalapeno peppers. Instead of mayo i used a gluten free cream of mushroom soup. I made as directed except topped with the cheese instead of crackers during the last 10 minutes or so of cooking. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Nice squash recipe. I used 2 zucchini & 2 yellow squash. Also used 2 Sweet Italian Sausages with the casings removed and cooked sausage crumbled. Like others I used lowfat sour cream instead of mayo. Will make again, especially for a potluck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I have made this recipe more than 10 times and it always gets rave reviews. You can use any ground meat. I have tried turkey, beef and Italian sausage (bulk not link) with great results. I gave it four stars because of the need to add additional spices. I always add garlic. Today I also added 1 T. of fresh basil. Sometimes I add fresh thyme. It depends on what looks good in the herb garden. I also use Serrano peppers instead of jalapeno because we like them better than Jalapeno. Because we like things extra spicy, I leave the seeds in. When making it for another family, I seeded the peppers. When entertaining vegetarians, I left the meat out and added a couple of extra squash. They all loved it. Spice this recipe to suit your family's taste and it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I was weary about trying this...but I love summer squash so I gave it a whirl. Very good! I always season my squash with soy sauce so I did that. I didn't have fresh Jalapeno's, but used about 1/4 cup chopped jarred ones instead. I used egg beaters instead of eggs and added a can of petite diced tomatoes. Omitted the bread crumb topping and added more cheese about 15 minutes before it was done baking. My roommate and I LOVED this! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALECIACRUMPLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Hubby's absolute favorite comfort food. I do not slice the squash; typically I use zucchini, and employ a chopper that dices into narrow rectangles; I do cheat and use a can of chopped jalapenos instead of fresh;and when out of crackers I have used Italian bread crumbs (with a light spritz of butter spray) with equal success. But the combination suggested for the casserole is perfect. I am nervous, but I am going to try to double the recipe for a potluck-- wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreadpiraterosato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was great... Did not have peppers so used spicy Mayo. It worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made this last week and we loved it! It is just my husband and myself so we ate it for 2 nights. Just this morning he asked when we would have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States