Spicy Spanish-Style Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
this is potentially a great recipe, but the amount of fluids may be wrong. Different rice type have different absorption of water, and old rice also. parboiled rice like Uncle Ben's is better 2 part water to 1 part rice. look at the original container of rice and see if it needs rice to water 1:2 ratio and adjust the volume of liquid if needed. (for ex basmati rice requires soaking first). Too much stirring and salt can also affect the absorption of rice, and make it sticky as well yet still hard in the middle. if the rice container suggests a ratio of 2:1 then try to start by adding 1/4 cup more water to the stock; do not add extra salt; follow the recipe exactly as to length of time of cooking and simmering. not rapid boiling. let it stand covered. no peeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
The flavors were amazing but I had the same problem with the crunchy rice. I will bring it to a boil next time and extend the time under the cover. It was absolutely delicious even with the crunchy rice. I would recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I only rate this recipe a 3 because I have tried it two times and both times the rice was not done. Crunchy. I will try again, but I will cook the rice first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Very good! So much better then anything in a package. Thanks for sharing, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was very good. I found it a little too spicy so next time will reduce the hot peppers but other than that it was great! My husband liked it as well. I served it with Chef John's Chicken and mushroom chimichangas which were excellent! Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was the best Spanish rice I have ever made. It was super simple and I had the jalapenos and onion in my garden so that made it even more special. I added frozen corn during the standing with heat off step and it was tasty. Will be making this very often now, so thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made this as directed, and it was delicious. The only problem I had was that I had to add a lot more broth while it was simmering, because it was very dry and started to stick to the bottom of the pot. I'm sure it would have burned if I didn't add the extra broth. Very spicy, but I like spicy food. The recipe makes a lot, so if you don't need a lot of rice, I would cut the recipe in half. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
excellent flavor, the right amount of seasonings, and cooked up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Delicious and spicy! I added some diced tomatoes... So good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This may not be authentic but it is the closest I've ever made. I made it exactly as written except used 1 1/2 teaspoons of chili powder because I don't have chipotle chile powder. I didn't think there was going to be enough liquid but there was and it was perfect to get that sticky but not too sticky spanish-"style" rice consistency. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States