Spicy Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
YUMMY! My whole family loved this (from my 82 year old MIL to my 17 year old son). My hubby said "Don't lose that recipe." I made it as written although I did microwave the squash for 10 mins with a bit of water instead of baking it. Also cut back the red pepper flakes to 1 1/2 tsp. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is one of the best recipes we've tried. We did not make any changes to this one and will definitely be making this again in the future. I did keep a portion without the red pepper flakes for my kiddos as the spice would've been too much for them. My husband and I enjoyed the original version very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Easy and delicious! Made this last night and used what I had; the changes included 20 oz ground turkey and an entire large can of Muir's crushed tomatoes. I had reduced the red pepper flakes to one teaspoon but later decided the two would have been just fine (not too spicy). Everything else I followed exactly. Roasting the squash in the oven is much better than the microwave (more of a roasted flavor). No extra butter is needed...keep it healthy, it's delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Good flavor and healthy! Easy to make, all fresh ingredients, I loved that.... Would recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was spectacular. I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed and fake meat instead of turkey. still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I skipped the step of cutting it in half. I pierced it with a knife all over and nuked it for 10 minutes, not covering it and no water. Came out perfectly. I used leftover ground lamb and pork tenderloin for the meat. Used a 29 oz. can of the crushed tomatoes and omitted the wine and capers. The thickness of the sauce was just right. We put freshly grated Romano on it as a great finish. This was very tasty and also a very attractive dish. I am going to add cubed eggplant to it for the leftovers. If served alone, this was enough for 2 of us to eat for one meal and enough for a 2nd meal as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was the first time I had tried spaghetti squash. We enjoyed this recipe very much with a few modifications. I used ground beef instead of turkey since that is what I had on hand. I added a small can of tomato sauce since I wanted thicker sauce. Sugar about 1 tbsp for a little sweetness,1tsp basil and used the tomatoes that had garlic oregano and basil added. My husband raved about it. He said "this is really good and I said thanks". He said" no his is really really really good!" I also left out the capers since it seemed like it did not really go with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I'd never made spaghetti squash before. I'm usually a butternut or acorn fan. Since my husband is a newly diagnosed diabetic, I've been looking for new recipes to try. This sounded good. I was wrong - it was great! I took other reviewers advice and cut the crushed red pepper in half. I'm so happy I did.. It was hot enough that way. I'll definitely be making this again, as it was wonderfully reminicent of "real" spaghetti, but much better nutritionally for my family at this time. It got the kids to eat squash - gotta love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Someone gave me a spaghetti squash from their garden and I had no idea what to do with it, but this recipe was a great choice! I left out the capers, used 1 lb. of turkey, and 1 can diced tomatoes with juice. We didn't think it was overly spicy and it was really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I felt this deserved 5 stars for a very healthy, low fat/low carb meal. To save time I halved the squash and cooked in a microwave for approximately 10 minutes with halves face down in a pyrex dish and approx 1/4 c of water. I chose to eliminate the capers and added lots of red pepper flakes to add heat. Topped with freshly grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k2 kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States