Spicy Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Just made this tonight for the first time. I was just trying to look up the cook time on spaghetti squash because I couldn't remember and came across this recipe. Was actually going to use jar spaghetti sauce. My daughter had told me at the grocery store that we had sauce at home, but when I went to get it discovered it was salsa and not spaghetti sauce! So, I decided to try this one. Sooooo glad we were out of jar spaghetti sauce so I had to try this! Will totally be making this again, and will be in regular rotation at our house! I made one change...by accident. I was adding spices, but when I went to my cupboard I was thinking red pepper...not flakes. So, I added a full teaspoon of cayenne pepper instead of the pepper flakes. As soon as I dumped it in, I thought, wait, that's a lot of cayenne!! LOL It was spicy, but we love spice and not too spicy for us! Also, chose to not do the ground turkey this time (we use all the time normally though) because I had some organic chicken and spinach sausages from Costco we opted for I made separate since we have a vegetarian in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Our new favorite pasta sauce, as we really enjoy the spicy kick! I'll often add some fresh mushrooms to the onion and garlic saute and stretch that cook time to four minutes, and add a can of petite diced tomatoes to make the sauce even heartier. Dried herbs are just fine too. I use 1/2 of what the recipe calls for when using dried. And don't usually bother with the capers. Play with it and adjust as you please, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Baked 400 about 45m, sprinkled olv oil and baked opened... Poured sauce over (ragu). With turkey added on, peppers, mushrm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I really have never liked squash or zucchini types of vegetables, but there was so much positives about spaghetti squash, I decided to try it. I found this recipe and put it to the test. I added chopped tomatoes to get rid of them and followed everything else as written. This recipe is very easy and pretty quick, my squash was done in the oven ahead of time. I was scared to try the microwave as some comments stated. I was only disappointed that squash is so watery, which is probably one of the reasons I never liked it. Like okra, if you don't have it made correctly when you first try it, you will hate it forever...at least I usually do. I put free mozzarella on it and really liked it. I love the sauce and will likely put it on some fettuccine at some point. I will also cut down a little on the cayenne. This does not take the place of pasta If that is truly what you want, but it is great as a way to enjoy a fun meal in place of a standard pasta dish to save on some calories and carbs. Thanks for the recipe and for helping me to Try something I never would have a year ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I added a tad bit more garlic and crushed peppers but it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Delicious!!! just the right amount of spice. I doubled the sauce as I had a very large squash. Most definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
WARNING!!: I followed the suggestion a reviewer made to cook the squash in the microwave. I used a common glass casserole dish I'd used a zillion times in the oven, and I'm positive it must have been microwave safe. After about 12 min it was done, I took it out, set it on the counter and BAM! it shattered into a million little pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Easy, check. Healthy, check. Tasty, check. It's in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Best paleo meal I've made yet! Will definitely make this meal again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States