Spicy Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This recipe was great! I didn't have capers, red wine, or green onions so I just used half a regular red onion. Also, I substituted the 2 cups crushed tomatoes for pasta sauce. Will definitely make it again, and I might season the turkey with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
What a great and healthy combo!!! This is a wonderful recipe that is now in my recipe box, thanks for a yummy and spicy spaghetti recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I really enjoyed this. My squash was a tad sweet, but it was great texture and did not taste like a vegetable at all. I did have to cook some regular pasta for hubs, but he enjoyed the sauce. I did add about a tablespoon of dried basil as I love it in all my pasta sauces, and we both salted to taste at the table. I also sprinkled about 1/4 cup of feta on mine, hubs used grated parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was awfully tasty! I followed the directions more or less as is, but cut a little bit of the red pepper flakes out and added a little extra spaghetti sauce I had in the fridge but only because I wanted it to be a little saucier. The spaghetti squash was perfect with this dish, and my picky eater of a boyfriend asked me to make it again, so if he wants it you know it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Things I changed: I did not use capers (didn't have any on hand). I put the whole spaghetti squash into the oven at 400 degrees for 60 minutes (it was too difficult to cut in half). I opened it and wasn't completely sure it was soft enough, so I put some olive oil on each half and popped it back in for 15 minutes at 375. The whole dish was so yummy, my husband was pleasantly surprised! Thanks for a great dinner! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Wonderful! We almost didn't have any leftovers. I was told I must make this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
YUM! I used a different method of cooking the squash... I pierced it all over and cooked it at 375 for one hour. It makes it so much easier to cut this way! This sauce recipe was delicious... pretty spicy, just how we like it. I didn't have crushed tomatoes, so I subbed a 15 ounce can of tomato sauce and a 6 oz can of tomato paste. I also simmered it, covered, for about an hour. I love that this uses fresh herbs, and I LOVE that it calls for no salt! Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
the squash has barely any flavor at all to it. I wouldn't really call this spicy either....unless you add more red pepper or hot peppers of some type...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwulleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Maine, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is so wonderful. I have tried spaghetti squash a couple of times in the past, and was less than impressed, so I was a little hesitant about this recipe. Not to worry, it's delicious! Changes: I had a can of diced tomatoes, not crushed, and it was only about 1 3/4 cup, so I added some jarred Prego to the mix. I don't keep wine in the house, so that was out. I had some pesto in the fridge that was wanting to be used for something, so I added a bit of that. Cut the red pepper in half and I think next time I'll use close to the full amount. Also added a couple of leaves of fresh chopped basil because I had it on hand. I almost didn't use the capers, but those went in too. Overall, this is a great sauce that will make a repeat appearance here, whether it's over spaghetti squash or regular spaghetti. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I have never made or eaten spaghetti squash so when I bought one and found this recipe, it was a must try! What a fantastic and unique dish...great flavour, healthy and low cal, we loved it! My only small changes were using dried herbs instead of fresh (was out) and I added a pile of mushrooms in with my onion and garlic, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States