Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very Good. Spicy. I used jalapenos from a jar because it's what I had on hand and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This is a great recipe to serve with Mexican food. I use on fish tacos and as a garnish with fajitas. I personally leave out the oil. (Cutting out the fat makes it a dieters dream!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Hot and spicy, made it with Acapulco chicken from this site. Even better a couple of days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This turned out spicy but very good. My husband loved it! I reduced the amount of oil otherwise followed the recipe. We used as a taco topping and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and loved it. I will reduce the oil and add a tablespoon or two of lime juice next time, though. I may also serve the jalepenos on the side so that kids and New Englanders can enjoy it. I used to love the slaw served at On The Border and this is very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
3 1/2 stars from me -- I thought this was a nice change from the typical mayo slaw. We quadrupled the recipe and served it at a BBQ with smoked chicken and a shrimp boil. We love spicy foods, so we liked it, but most of our guests thought it too spicy (even with only 2 jalapenos). I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the (olive) oil in half. Good recipe that we'll probably make again, with 1/2 the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
We really liked this recipe. But, I will use 1/2 the oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
We really enjoyed this slaw. My husband said it wasn't bad for slaw (he hates cole slaw most of the time). The flavor was great. The mixture of colorful, fresh vegetables is enticing. The only thing I would want to improve is to somehow make it less oily. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
If you follow the recipe - I'd say 3 stars. The initial recipe is a good start, but I thought it was bland. It was spicy, but lacked taste. I added more vinegar (didn't measure, probably ~3-4T), cumin (~2T), and the rest of the package of cilantro (I ended up using a whole package from the store), and 2 cloves of garlic. Finally I substituted olive oil (that I had sitting for about a month or so with red peppers and seeds in it). Overall, it turned out excellent, everyone liked it. I think adding cumin makes a big difference in making this a southwest-like slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Not as good as I would've hoped...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States