Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I liked this, it was good. I made it as is except to leave out the cilantro b/c I didn't want to buy it since I rarely use it. It didn't taste *too* spicy, but maybe it was since my mouth is all tingly-burny now!!! I eyeballed the cayenne and probably came up a bit short. I ate two (ground turkey) tacos tonight, one with this on the side, and one with this as a topping. I preferred this as a side dish, but i think it would make a great topping for a more delicate meat, like shrimp or fish tacos, and some avacado to mellow it out. I'm going to try that with the leftovers. One more thing...probably a little less oil next time. Vinegar was right, though. **ETA: I made a single shrimp taco for lunch with the leftovers (sauteed 5 med. shrimp in butter with cumin and chili powder, piled in taco shell, topped with chopped avocado and a generous helping of this slaw)--DELICIOUS! I prefer this slaw used this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
If you love spicy hot food, this is delicious but it's one of those love/hate dishes. If you don't like "fire" in your slaw, you'll hate it. Definitely not a potluck dish because a lot of people won't be able to eat it. I gave it 5 stars because my son raved about it. I think next time I'll use mild green chiles in place of the jalapeno and cumin for the cayenne to try to keep that delicious flavor but lose some of the heat.Excellent recipe as is if you tolerate super spicy foods well and I will make it again with those changes.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I used half the oil and doubled the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
A family favorite! I leave out the jalapeno and reduce the cayenne, and it's still quite spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Flavor overload!This was slaw-a-riffic! The flavors were fresh and the dressing was light and delicous. This is a SPICY slaw. Maybe next time we will use a little less cayanne pepper but overall you will love this festive mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenandcamille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Super easy and delicious way to get more veggies. I'd go with a little less oil and a little more vinegar in dressing. Excellent as garnish for the "Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing" recipe on this site. This will be in regular rotation at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I love this recipe! My family enjoys this with tortilla chips more than salsa. To make it a bit easier without all the slicing and dicing, I use packaged cabbage with the carrots, etc. already in it...this saves time on chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Loved this recipe as did all my guests!! I added lots and lots of fresh cilantro. I also have served it over a bed of greens with grilled chicken on top - great!! I just tripled the dressing for this. Also, I like more vinegar in my dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
this is my new fav summer recipe! we like it as a side for pork chops and grilled chicken. the slaw is simple, fresh, crunchy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very Good. Spicy. I used jalapenos from a jar because it's what I had on hand and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States