Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Awesome recipe, thanks! I didn't put in all the cayenne called for in the recipe only because I was serving this with Chipotle Shrimp Tacos & they were plenty spicy. Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was a great way to use my extra cabbage. 3 cups was just less than 1/2 head. I used only HALF of the called for oil (1/4 cup only), and substituted with olive oil (to keep on track with my WeightWatchers plan). Also only used 1/2 of the jalapeno for a nice bite! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I loved this recipe and have shared it with friends. The flavor lasts for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is based on a very traditional recipe which I, too, have been using for years. The addition of jalapeno and cayenne can make this too hot for some tastes but either one or both can be reduced or left out. The only change I would make is to increase the vinegar to oil ratio. By the way, this keeps very well, and only improves in the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I've been making this slaw for years! My husband and I love very very spicy hot food, so I usually crank up the cayenne and the jalapeno!! My husband is a very finicky eater, but he absolutely loves this slaw. We generally have it as a side dish to other sort of spicy entrees like jamaican jerk chicken, spice rubbed ribs or spice marinated, spice rubbed chicken. For those that don't like it too spicy, just adjust the cayenne and jalapeno. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Destin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
some liked it, others didn't...don't know if I'll make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
What a change! This will be my most requested slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basil Scott Roland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Brevard, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Great flavor! Nice change from the norm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was good just a little greasy!!! I made this the night before and it was a little on the greasy side, but still good. I tried to follow the recipe except I used cumin instead of cayenne pepper because I have not been able to find it in the store for some reason, I didn't have cilantro and I used jarred jalapenos instead of fresh and sliced the carrots instead of shredding. I will make this again, it's a nice change from the usual creamy milky coleslaw!!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I liked this, it was good. I made it as is except to leave out the cilantro b/c I didn't want to buy it since I rarely use it. It didn't taste *too* spicy, but maybe it was since my mouth is all tingly-burny now!!! I eyeballed the cayenne and probably came up a bit short. I ate two (ground turkey) tacos tonight, one with this on the side, and one with this as a topping. I preferred this as a side dish, but i think it would make a great topping for a more delicate meat, like shrimp or fish tacos, and some avacado to mellow it out. I'm going to try that with the leftovers. One more thing...probably a little less oil next time. Vinegar was right, though. **ETA: I made a single shrimp taco for lunch with the leftovers (sauteed 5 med. shrimp in butter with cumin and chili powder, piled in taco shell, topped with chopped avocado and a generous helping of this slaw)--DELICIOUS! I prefer this slaw used this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States