Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Neither my fiance or I cared for this. For me, this was so-so (I didn't hate it as much as he did...). Perhaps if this sat in the fridge for longer than an hour, it would be better??? I too was afraid that a t of cayenne and an entire jalapeno would be too much, but oddly enough, it wasn't at all. I could definitely detect a spicy bite, but it was never overpowering. Sometimes I tasted a very subtle sweetness and sometimes just a spicy punch (which was odd). The flavors never seemed to mingle together as they should have. I think this would be much better as a garnish for fish or shrimp tacos. The crunchiness of the slaw would complement the tender fish nicely. Add a chipotle mayo or Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce (also on this site), and you'd have one darn good taco. NOTE: To make this extra pretty (and to speed prep), I used a combo of shredded slaw mix (i.e. green cabbage & carrots) and purple shredded cabbage, both found in my grocer's produce section. I also want to mention one tidbit about jalapenos. The heat is contained in the membrane and seeds. As long as you remove both, you won't get any spice from it (just a nice crunch). Although I'm not jumping out of my seat to make this again, I would consider it as suggested above (I'm considering Chipotle Shrimp Tacos!). I think my fiance might like it this way also. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Twice my husband said this was really good. If he likes it, it's a keeper. I thought it was better than the usual coleslaw I make and it was certainly a lot more colorful. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
DELICOUS!! Only change I made was to omit the cilantro. Will make it again and again. New Favorite. Thanks!! Only change I might make would be to use less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Tasty for a slaw with vinegar dressing versus mayonaisse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
this was an exceptional addition to my pork tacos for the night and the family thought so to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I made this recipe last night adding half a minced jalapeno and only adding half an onion and the only person who liked it was my 8 month pregnant friend who has been "liking weird foods" according to her. It has a very strong raw onion taste even though I only added half. It was okay on the tortilla with carnitas but not by it self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charisha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I make a similar slaw but I use red pepper flakes instead of a jalapeno or other spices;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
No red pepper in the house, so I subbed green pepper. Also, per other reviews, I altered the oil and vinegar amounts -- 1/4 cup of each. DH says this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoftballMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Speedway, Indiana, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I added more cilantro due to personal preference and this tasted very fresh and was very colorful. I will definitely make again! It is a great side for any Mexican dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Awesome recipe, thanks! I didn't put in all the cayenne called for in the recipe only because I was serving this with Chipotle Shrimp Tacos & they were plenty spicy. Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States