Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
too hot! toned it down and was better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Oily and somewhat tasteless, even after sitting a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was a major hit with my modifications. I followed all directions except i did 1/4 cup of olive oil, and 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar, also used a splenda packet. I also added the juice of a lime. But the biggest addition and what i got raves about was the mango that I added. I used a firm unripened mango (actually, half ripe which is firm, but still has a touch of sweetness) - this got RAVE reviews at the party and EVERYONE wanted the recipe. This modified version will be a staple at my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My fiance hates coleslaw. HATES it. So I wanted to find an alternative approach for slaw, that would also work with our Mexican food themed 4th of July cookout. This looked worth trying....and SO glad we did. Other than adding habanero to the recipe, we followed it to a T. And it was delicious. My anti-slaw man has been converted and even made regretful noises when the leftovers had to go. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
In my opinion, this recipe needs some "tweaking" with regard to measurements ...3 cups bagged cole slaw, 1 cup red cabbage, 1 cup shredded carrots, 1/4 cup red onion, 1 jalapeno, 1/4 cup fresh cilantro 1/2 cup vinegar (cider or rice wine), splash of oil and pinch of splenda and pinch of cayenne. refrig for 2-3 hrs. Great spectrum of ingredients. Alter measurements to suit your tastes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESECAKEMAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I made this as directed but I wasn't thrilled with the results. I didn't like how oily it was. And although we can tolerate heat pretty well, this was almost too hot to eat. While we did eat this, I don't think I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I don't know why but this dish just didn't turn out for me. All it tasted like was oil to me; the flavors didn't meld very well in my opinion. I don't think that I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Fabulous recipe. I did cut the oil back to 1/4 cup and added a few dashes of cumin. Super yummy!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I think the problem I had with this recipe was entirely my fault, and not the recipe's. I used a bag of pre-shredded coleslaw mix and instead of measuring out 3 cups, I just used the entire thing. As a result, the dressing was a little muted, and even though the cayenne still made your lips tingle, the result was a little bland. Still, I'm giving the recipe four stars because I have high hopes for it; the dressing (before adding) was simple but terrific, and it's so nice to have a fresh Tex-mex-ish side dish that I know I'll try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Neither my fiance or I cared for this. For me, this was so-so (I didn't hate it as much as he did...). Perhaps if this sat in the fridge for longer than an hour, it would be better??? I too was afraid that a t of cayenne and an entire jalapeno would be too much, but oddly enough, it wasn't at all. I could definitely detect a spicy bite, but it was never overpowering. Sometimes I tasted a very subtle sweetness and sometimes just a spicy punch (which was odd). The flavors never seemed to mingle together as they should have. I think this would be much better as a garnish for fish or shrimp tacos. The crunchiness of the slaw would complement the tender fish nicely. Add a chipotle mayo or Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce (also on this site), and you'd have one darn good taco. NOTE: To make this extra pretty (and to speed prep), I used a combo of shredded slaw mix (i.e. green cabbage & carrots) and purple shredded cabbage, both found in my grocer's produce section. I also want to mention one tidbit about jalapenos. The heat is contained in the membrane and seeds. As long as you remove both, you won't get any spice from it (just a nice crunch). Although I'm not jumping out of my seat to make this again, I would consider it as suggested above (I'm considering Chipotle Shrimp Tacos!). I think my fiance might like it this way also. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States