Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Excellent! I've substituted different types of peppers, but it's good every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Refreshing and not sweet coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I followed this recipe pretty much to the t... it is AMAZING. Just the spicy munch I was looking for. Glad I still have the ingredients, I will probably be making more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I didn't have any fresh cilantro, so used dried cilantro instead. It turned out fine. We didn't eat up all of the slaw, so the next day had leftovers. It was HOT!! lol so my advice, if you don't like it too spicy, eat all of the salad the first sitting! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
too hot! toned it down and was better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Oily and somewhat tasteless, even after sitting a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was a major hit with my modifications. I followed all directions except i did 1/4 cup of olive oil, and 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar, also used a splenda packet. I also added the juice of a lime. But the biggest addition and what i got raves about was the mango that I added. I used a firm unripened mango (actually, half ripe which is firm, but still has a touch of sweetness) - this got RAVE reviews at the party and EVERYONE wanted the recipe. This modified version will be a staple at my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My fiance hates coleslaw. HATES it. So I wanted to find an alternative approach for slaw, that would also work with our Mexican food themed 4th of July cookout. This looked worth trying....and SO glad we did. Other than adding habanero to the recipe, we followed it to a T. And it was delicious. My anti-slaw man has been converted and even made regretful noises when the leftovers had to go. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
In my opinion, this recipe needs some "tweaking" with regard to measurements ...3 cups bagged cole slaw, 1 cup red cabbage, 1 cup shredded carrots, 1/4 cup red onion, 1 jalapeno, 1/4 cup fresh cilantro 1/2 cup vinegar (cider or rice wine), splash of oil and pinch of splenda and pinch of cayenne. refrig for 2-3 hrs. Great spectrum of ingredients. Alter measurements to suit your tastes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESECAKEMAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I made this as directed but I wasn't thrilled with the results. I didn't like how oily it was. And although we can tolerate heat pretty well, this was almost too hot to eat. While we did eat this, I don't think I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States