Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I took this delicious slaw to a hog roast. The jalapeño and cayenne pepper added a nice amount of zing to this recipe. This is recipe that we thought got better as it sat overnight. A nice change from the usual creamy coleslaw and it went really well with the pulled pork. Thanks DEBNJAMES for sharing your version of coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Made as a side dish to squeeze in some veggies with our tacos and now I'm hooked. A great change to regular coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Love, love, love this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Spicy hot, but oh so cool! This is a very good side dish to BBQ, Mexican food, or any grilled meat, such as pork, chicken or fish. This is even good scooped up by a tortilla chip. I like that this slaw has no mayonnaise - the oil really seals in the flavors. I embellished the recipe by reducing the vinegar to 1 TBS and adding the juice of 1 lime. I also added more cilantro (but that's to my taste) and 2 TBS of minced radish. I halted the amount of cayenne pepper and added 1 TSP of cumin powder. As a note, the color of this slaw is beautiful, and if you use a combination of green and purple cabbage, it's even more so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I Love this recipe. I do add a lot more cilantro (approx. 1/3 to 1/2 cup fresh), because I love cilantro. I've made this several times and now I'm thinking I'd like to have this on fish tacos. Easy and probably better for you than traditional. Keeping it under constant refrigeration isn't an absolute, so would be great at picnics/cookouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Cut the cayenne to 3/4 tsp & still plenty of kick. Imagine this would be good in tacos or burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Is it a slaw or is it a salad?Some people do not know which it is.So they call it both.But this people is a slaw.I know this combo of ingredients will be excellent,but the cayenne pepper will have to be reduced.Plus it is not a Mexican type slaw without cilantro.Cilantro is a Mexican/Spanish herb/seasoning and without it,it is not of the Mexican flair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I was looking for a coleslaw without mayo when I found this. The spiciness was a hit with the men in my family. Not so much the girls. Couple hints .. unless you truly are a fire breathing machine, there is not near enough slaw for the amount of heat in this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly using 3 cups of a bagged slaw mix ... and ended up using 2 pounds of bagged slaw to make the heat more palatable. This would be awesome on top of hamburgers or hotdogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Absolutely loved this recipe! Perfect amount of heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was pretty good. I cut down the oil to 1/4 cup and increased the vinegar because we like salads tangy. I also used Splenda instead of sugar and added a mango as suggested by another reviewer. I thought this was okay, but DH just loved it! Thanks so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States