Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Loved the flavors in this. The only change we made was to dump the jalapeno and substitute a milder pepper, 'cause we're weenies. Amazing enough that my picky 12 year old had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I added a second jalapeno - might have been a bit too spicy. It is a great summer cookout side dish! We had it with grilled chicken - it was a delicious summer supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Excellent if you like spicy. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I also used broccoli slaw and finely julienned jicama. Big improvement on boring old-style coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
The only reason we did not rate this a 5 was that we thought there was just a little too much cayenne. We will cut it back to about 3/4 tsp next time and may also try adding some cumin as another reviewer suggested. Overall though, thought this was a great twist on coleslaw. I have several recipes that this will work well with. We have to be careful of fat and sugar so I did make a couple of changes in the dressing. Used 3 tbsp cider vinegar, 2 tbsp canola oil, 1 tbsp lemon juice, and 1 tbsp water. Instead of sugar, I added the low calorie sweetner equivalent of 2 tbsp sugar. Really helps reduce calories and tastes great with that combination. I'm planning to serve this on my son's birthday. Think it will be a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Really 5-star but made few personal pref changes for that so gave it 4 star as is ~ great base recipe! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I liked this a lot, but even though I cut the oil in half, it's too oily for my taste. I used it on pulled pork sandwiches, and they were delicious, but I wouldn't eat this as a "stand alone" slaw because of the oil. To moisten a sandwich, it's fine, and you don't need anything else. I'd make this again, but adding only a tablespoon or so of oil. I like the mix of vegetables & spices, though! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
this was nice and different and had a great spicy bite to it. I will make again but have to learn to make less for just hubby and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I was looking for a spicy slaw to put on top of a corned beef sandwich. This definitely fit the bill. Maybe a little less onion would have been better. Not something I would want to eat by the spoonful. It just makes a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is truly a beautiful dish. It will improve the appearance of any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States