Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Delicious. Made this to top some chipotle burgers. Really made the burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I made this and is was soooooooo good, my teenage daughter loved it also and she will only eat my regular coleslaw, nobody else's. It had just a little kick that went pop as you ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Served this recipe as a side to a carnitas taco dinner, it was a hit. I used olive oil (instead of canola) and green chile (instead of bell pepper), thank you for posting this recipe~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I've made this several times and it's one of the few recipes that I make absolutely no changes to - it's perfect. I hate mayonnaise based cole slaw, and this is the perfect answer. The leftovers go GREAT on fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I added juice of a lime for some extra zest and a fresh taste to top chicken tacos. My partner said it was the best dinner I have ever made for her. And that, she says, is saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
We really like this. The amount of cayenne is perfect for us but we do cut it down a little for guests. Makes the best pulled pork sandwiches. I added some cumin and garlic to the dressing. It just gets better after a few days in the fridge so make lots. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
im sure this would have been pretty good as written but to suit to our tastes (and my laziness) we made the following changes.. after shredding 3 cups of cabbage i was in no mood to chop an onion so i just seasoned with onion powder.. didn't have bell pepper.. didn't deseed or devein the baby jalapeno.. only used 2 T of canola oil and added the juice of two limes.. didn't add the sugar.. really wanted to add cumin but was out.. very tasty and im sure the longer it sits the better it will taste.. ty for the beginning of our side for tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Too much onion. The onion overpowers the other flavors. Even though I doubled the cilantro, I couldn't taste it in the end, or the bell pepper. I used a medium sized red onion and only used 3/4 of it because I had a feeling it would be too much.I should have used even less. I also cut the cayenne in half, but it was still very spicy. Any way I look at it, it didn't knock my socks off. I'm going to try it in fish tacos tonight, maybe I'll like it better that way than as a side dish for pulled pork. I will say that it is a beautiful looking dish. Very colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Different. We didn't add the jalapeno since we didn't have one & you sure don't need it. We cut back on the cayenne pepper a little, but will try 1/2 tsp next time. Also reduced the onion, pepper & oil. Instead of going through the hassle of shredding cabbage we just bought a bag of coleslaw & that worked well. We put over pulled pork & was very tasty. Usually use creamy coleslaw for things like that, but this was a nice change. Will make again with our reduction changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Loved the flavors in this. The only change we made was to dump the jalapeno and substitute a milder pepper, 'cause we're weenies. Amazing enough that my picky 12 year old had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States