Spicy Southwest Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I used acorn squash and went easy on spice in order to accommodate my family and it tasted delicious. I will definitely make this again. I also did not sauté everything as long as the recipe suggested. Instead, I threw it in the oven while peppers were still crispy and then baked until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is my third time to make this, and we love it! I'm vegan, my husband and son are not, so I separate this into two casserole dishes, one with cheese and one without. I top mine with diced avocado, and I'm convinced that mine is every bit as good as the one with cheese. Mmmm. I did find that the squash was a little undercooked the first go round, so I started putting just the squash in the casserole dish, covering it with foil, and baking it for 15 minutes before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
We loved it! I made a couple of minor adjustments - more mushrooms, more garlic and a little more spinach - because we love those ingredients. Plus I did not have any saltines so I crumbled some hint of lime tortilla chips. It was fantastic. As some other reviewers mentioned, the casserole was a bit juicy, next time I think I will as some rice to absorb the liquid and add some substance to the dish. I especially love this recipe because my Vegan son and my fussy husband both liked it. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindao6
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I used butternut squash instead of summer squash (pictured above) since that's what I had in the house and it worked really well. The sweetness of the squash with the spices was a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I used this recipe as a guide and it turned out tasting great. Thanks for the inspiration! I'm not vegetarian; I just had a squash lying around that I didn't know how to use. This was tasty and pretty filling. The ingredients I used were largely the same, except I left out mushrooms and added a red pepper for some extra kick. I didn't have beans handy, so I used a powdered mix. Long story short: good flavor combo. I'm happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
We just had it for dinner last night using summer squash from the garden. It came out fantastic and we will definitely make it again. It actually made so much that we had to use a 9 x 11 size pan to fit it all. Makes great leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I thought this would be 'pretty good' but it was excellent! The only thing I did different was start it with some bacon I had to use up. It is a great and delicious way to use your squash. Have a fork handy when serving it off your spatula so it holds up nice. Looking forward to our leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
This was a huge hit with family and friends. I omitted the mushrooms and substituted crushed Cheez-its, crushed French fried onions, and Italian bread crumbs for the crackers. This was mentioned in a comment so thought I would try it. I also used a combination of yellow summer squash and zucchini and I upped the amount of salsa and added a can of corn. I made this twice and once I added chicken. I also used coconut oil instead of olive oil. EVOO doesn't have a high smoke point so is not good for cooking but coconut oil does and is very good for you. I also didn't put cheese on top just mixed into the casserole. I added more of the cracker mix at the bottom than called for to soak up so liquid. I came out perfect and very Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Delicious flavor and great way to use bountiful zucchini. We added diced, cooked chicken breasts and it barely fit into a 9x13 pan. Instead of crushed crackers, we had leftover topping/breading from the "Amazing Crusted Chicken" recipe on this site. The topping from that recipe is crushed Cheez-its, crushed French fried onions, and Italian bread crumbs. Best. Substitution. Ever. We also added an additional 1/2 cup of this breading to the bottom of the dish to assist with the moisture that other reviewers commented on. Our dish was not runny at all. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Seems so simple but very good. I dumped a bunch of water out the bottom but then worried it would be too dry... just dolloped some sour cream on top = perfect! Next time I will cut squash smaller so easier to mix the layers. Thanks for the recipe! (Oh, needed to use up some pinto beans and was able to put in 3 1/2 cups!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States