Spicy Southwest Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is my third time to make this, and we love it! I'm vegan, my husband and son are not, so I separate this into two casserole dishes, one with cheese and one without. I top mine with diced avocado, and I'm convinced that mine is every bit as good as the one with cheese. Mmmm. I did find that the squash was a little undercooked the first go round, so I started putting just the squash in the casserole dish, covering it with foil, and baking it for 15 minutes before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
We loved it! I made a couple of minor adjustments - more mushrooms, more garlic and a little more spinach - because we love those ingredients. Plus I did not have any saltines so I crumbled some hint of lime tortilla chips. It was fantastic. As some other reviewers mentioned, the casserole was a bit juicy, next time I think I will as some rice to absorb the liquid and add some substance to the dish. I especially love this recipe because my Vegan son and my fussy husband both liked it. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Seems so simple but very good. I dumped a bunch of water out the bottom but then worried it would be too dry... just dolloped some sour cream on top = perfect! Next time I will cut squash smaller so easier to mix the layers. Thanks for the recipe! (Oh, needed to use up some pinto beans and was able to put in 3 1/2 cups!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I thought this would be 'pretty good' but it was excellent! The only thing I did different was start it with some bacon I had to use up. It is a great and delicious way to use your squash. Have a fork handy when serving it off your spatula so it holds up nice. Looking forward to our leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
We just had it for dinner last night using summer squash from the garden. It came out fantastic and we will definitely make it again. It actually made so much that we had to use a 9 x 11 size pan to fit it all. Makes great leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I'm not quite sure why I didn't love this since all the ingredients are some of my favorite things. Only things I did differently was to use Adobo seasoning in place of the S & P and I used Ritz garlic butter crackers. Maybe garden fresh squash doesn't lend itself to these flavors. Next time I will ditch the squash, add another can of beans and top it with corn or nacho chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I used acorn squash and went easy on spice in order to accommodate my family and it tasted delicious. I will definitely make this again. I also did not sauté everything as long as the recipe suggested. Instead, I threw it in the oven while peppers were still crispy and then baked until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jake and Travis' Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Surprising. I was not expecting it to have so much flavor and it is filling. I read the other reviews and worried about it being too watery so I drained the liquid from the Rotel and I didn't add the salsa. I used Ritz crackers because that is all I had on hand and I also used red onion,I am glad I did. For me this filled a 9 x 13 pyrex dish not an 8 x 8. It is a bit spicy so my little guys didn't like it but I thought it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I love the flavors of this recipe, but I think it might need something to make it less watery. I worried about the texture when I put it in and it came out with a lot of liquid. I think next time I'll add some crackers to the mixture as well as sprinkling them on top. Really the only things I change was I used 2 yellow squash and 2 zucchini and I tossed in the squash/zucchini with the other vegetables to cook just a touch (not all the way through.) When I realized it wasn't as thick as I hoped, I put it on top of some refried beans and it was great! I think I might strain out some water and use this as either taco salad topper or layer this with some tortillas for a Southwest casserole. The flavor is EXCELLENT - just gonna play with it to get the texture I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I used this recipe as a guide and it turned out tasting great. Thanks for the inspiration! I'm not vegetarian; I just had a squash lying around that I didn't know how to use. This was tasty and pretty filling. The ingredients I used were largely the same, except I left out mushrooms and added a red pepper for some extra kick. I didn't have beans handy, so I used a powdered mix. Long story short: good flavor combo. I'm happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States