Spicy Southwest Chopped Salad with Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
We loved this salad! The salsa verde turned out so flavorful and delicious, and the salad was really good too. I thought the chicken would be pretty spicy, but it wasn't. It just had a mild flavor that complemented the rest of the salad well. Depending on how much pepper you use for the salsa, that could be spicy, but ours had a nice medium flavor. I will be making this salad again, yum! Thanks for the recipe, Jenny from WA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 30, April '11. My family really enjoyed this salad. It is a little time consuming to put together, but worth it. I realized as I'm typing this review that we forgot to put the cheese on it. The dressing on this salad is the best part in my opinion. I will most certainly make the dressing again. The lime flavor is a very nice compliment to this salad. Thanks Jenny for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Recipe Group selection of 4/30/11. The salsa verde is excellent! I will use this part of the recipe often on its own. The veggie portion was just ok. I think it would have been better if it had more moisture. Maybe more avocado and lime? Or maybe mix all but the avocado ahead of time and let it moisten the cabbage then add the avocado just before serving? I think this would be a better brunch or lunch for us. It seemed too heavy for a side dish but not filling enough for a main. But we did like the flavors. Thanks, Jenny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was an interesting salad. It was chosen by the "recipe group" on AR for the Cinco De Mayo theme. It had a lot of ingredients! And, it also made it a little pricey to buy them all. I decided to make the dressing one day and the rest of the salad another day. I followed the recipe exactly except I broiled the chicken breast, used queso fresco, and 3/4 cup of cooked frozen corn to save a little time. I also had to use iceburg lettuce because the leaf lettuce I bought seemed like it had turned even though I had just purchased it. I loved the salsa verde and will use that again in other recipes or as a chip dip. Now that I have the cajun spice I might make more broiled chicken with it for an alfredo or other recipe. But, making all these components for one salad was a bit much to me. It was tasty it just seemed like a few separate recipes, combined to make one, that are great on their own. I would also not consider this to be a good representation of Cinco de May though, as it is not a classic dish, although that has nothing to do with the recipe. I do think this salad would be perfect for a January diet resolution though, as it is loaded with nutrients and fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group. I prepped everything and then put the avocado mix on some Boston lettuce leaves, adding the salsa verde on top (as stated, it doesn’t say what you are supposed to do with it), Queso Fresco on top of that, chicken on the sides and garnished with lime wedges. The cilantro overpowered the salsa for me, I don’t care much for it anyway. The salad as a whole seemed to be just dry raw veggies with chicken. If the salsa is supposed to be mixed in with the avocado mix, that may account for the dryness part. Although I did mix it all together before eating. I didn’t care too much for it and added in some Catalina dressing. A nice southwest dressing would go wonderful here. Hubby liked it and added more of the salsa to his. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Overall, a good salad that I will make again for sure but lacked the wow factor that would have made it 5 star. This only took me an hour to prepare. I made the corn in the microwave and wish I had actually grilled it. I also didn't have red peppers so used green and added a little tomato garnish for color. The salsa was very good and had a different texture(which we liked) than most other verde recipes I've tried. The instructions didn't really say what to do with the salsa so I used it as dressing. I think I would prefer mixing some with the avocado mixture to "disperse" it better as it's rather thick and doesn't really pour. I like a little taste in every bite and the overall dish was a little "dry" served as it was. Without the lettuce, it would make a pretty good summer side dish, that would hold up well. Thanks, Jenny (and the Recipe Group)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Excellent flavor, although labor intensive. Worth it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is delicious and I could tell just by looking at it that it's a nutritionist's dream. For my comments/suggestions: I used Queso Fresco instead of Cotija because it's much cheaper (less than half the cost). Also, I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper and chile powder and I was quite happy with that in place of the cajun seasoning. I had one serving without avocado and I would say that is a must for the recipe. And lastly, I would actually suggest skipping the lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Yum! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
LOVED this salad! Made it just as described. The flavors are perfect. Left out the cotija, couldn't find it at my store. My husband wants me to make the salsa all of the time now!! 2nd Review..just made this salad with ground beef...wow! So yummy this time added the cotija cheese and went to heaven. Can't wait for the lefties....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIADAMIANI

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States