Spicy South of the Border Spinach Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I searched out this recipe and made it for a friend of mine who's pregnant and craving spicy spinach dip without artichokes. Unfortunately, she may have to wait for the second batch...this is REALLY GOOD! If you want it mild, follow the recipe as written. But if you want it kickin’, try my modifications: use only 1 tablespoon of oil, add 1 minced garlic clove to the onion, replace the tomatoes with 2 cans of Ro*tel AND keep the 1 can of diced chilies, use a blend of shredded cheeses (cheddar, monterey jack, pepper jack, colby, etc., whatever you choose), use enough black pepper and cayenne pepper to suit your taste (maybe 1/4 teaspoon of each), and add 1/4 teaspoon cumin. Finally, seal the deal with a dash or two of cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Pretty good but not spicy at all. If I make this again, I'll add some red pepper & cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
My initial opinion was this was pretty good after the first bite. Then, I realized it was kind of bland and way too rich for my taste. I will probably make it again for a large group of people and spice it up quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I have made this recipe at least two or three times a month for the last year. It is the first thing requested and the first thing gone at every event. I have even had the executive chef for a nearby Hilton Hotel ask for the recipe. I have made only one change which is using a various cans of Rotel to ajust spiciness to the event and I sautee the onion with the Rotel until most juices have evaporated. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This is such a great recipe. I took it to a dinner party and it disappeared. It's amazing how good this twist to spinach dip is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSLOCKSMITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Took this to a party and it was a bit hit. I put in some hotter chilies in addition to the green ones. I thought it was plenty spicy, husband wanted a bit more. Overall a keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was a good dip that got cleaned up at our party, but I wouldn't really call it spicy. I even used pepper jack cheese! Used enough skim milk to get the consistency we wanted, instead of cream. Baked up "bubbly" very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
It was OK. Most people will probably not think this is very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I used diced tomato with green chiles already added and a touch of Mrs Dash Southwestern Blend to spice it up a little bit. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
this was tasty, but not my favorite of the hot dips I've made. I felt like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States