Spicy South of the Border Spinach Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I searched out this recipe and made it for a friend of mine who's pregnant and craving spicy spinach dip without artichokes. Unfortunately, she may have to wait for the second batch...this is REALLY GOOD! If you want it mild, follow the recipe as written. But if you want it kickin’, try my modifications: use only 1 tablespoon of oil, add 1 minced garlic clove to the onion, replace the tomatoes with 2 cans of Ro*tel AND keep the 1 can of diced chilies, use a blend of shredded cheeses (cheddar, monterey jack, pepper jack, colby, etc., whatever you choose), use enough black pepper and cayenne pepper to suit your taste (maybe 1/4 teaspoon of each), and add 1/4 teaspoon cumin. Finally, seal the deal with a dash or two of cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This dip received rave reviews from my boyfriend and his other Monday Night Football watching friends. I did make some suggested substitutions by other reviewers and others to try and make this a "healthier dip" (as if such a thing were possible!). I substitued NO FAT Half and Half for the real stuff, Neufchatel Cheese for the cream cheese, and 2 (10 oz.) cans of Rotel Original diced Tomatoes and Green Chillies (drained) for the separate cans of tomatoes and diced chillies. In addition, I only used 8 oz. of Monterey Jack. Finally, I added 10 drops of Franks Red Hot Sauce to mixture to spice it up a little. I used a 7 X 11-in glass baking pan....it looked great and tasted great even though these changes make it lower in fat. Highly recommed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Great recipe - I make it all the time. I use 1 can of chiles and 1 can of spicy Rotel (drained) instead of tomatoes. I use a full cup of half n half - otherwise the dip is too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was good, everyone seemed to enjoy it. It was not really spicy, though. A little time consuming, but had good flavor. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I made this over Thanksgiving with a few variations. Instead of a regular onion, I sauteed one bunch of chopped green onions with a tiny bit of butter/margarine. To save time, I used canned diced tomatoes with green chilis added and I used two cans. I didn't use any salt or pepper, and I added a dollop of sour cream, and used about two cups of shredded cheese Mexican blend with four different cheeses. I didn't add the half n half either. The family LOVED it, however, the kids found it too spicy for their taste. GREAT with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Very good although I changed a few things. I did not have regular spinache so I used a box of frozen creamed spinache then reduced the milk to 1/2 cup. Also added some red pepper and cajun seasoning nice and spicy! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I have made this dip exactly as directed and it's a little bland but still very good. I now skip the can of green chili's but use Rotel and add garlic, chili powder, cumin and a jalepeno if I have one. I have used mont. jack and have used cheddar. I think I like it with cheddar better. I cut the spinach in half and it is plenty. I love this dip, I make it more than any other and it always gets gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This dip is yummy and great with nachos or crackers. The recipe is easy to follow and there are no "crazy" ingredients that are hard to find. Highly reccommended; takes awhile to prepare but it is definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this for my Bunco party, and was asked for the recipe several times. I loved that it was so easy to make, and actually made quite a bit. The dip was delicious and spicy - a welcome change from the traditional spinach dip with the mayo, water chestnuts, etc. I did substitute two cans of Rotel for the tomatoes and chilis. I may use mild Rotel next time, depending on who's eating. It was great, but definitely too spicy for kids. Also used only 8 oz. of a Mexican shredded cheese blend and it was plenty. I also added a few cloves of minced garlic. The tiny bit I had leftover reheated nicely in the microwave the next day. I'll definitely make this one again, probably sooner than later because I'm still craving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States