Spicy South of the Border Spinach Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I read some reviews and decided to add a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles instead of plain tomatoes. (I didn't omit the can of green chiles). This was a pretty good dip, the dish was cleaned out at the party I brought it to, and everybody complimented me on it. Thanks! This is getting 4 stars for now, but the next time I make it, I'm going to make a change or two (mainly add some heat and also maybe something to give it a little more creamy texture) and then I think it'll get 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Made this the first time exactly like the recipe. Decided the tomatoes made it to sweet for a spicy Mexican dip. Here is how I modifified it with RAVE reviews. Took out the can of tomatoes, added instead : 3 cloves garlic, chopped 1 (7 ounce)can diced chilies, 1 (4 ounce) can diced jalapenos (to taste) and pepper jack cheese. YUMMMY!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I think this dip has real potential. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was a bit bland. I guess I didn't read other reviews (usually do) or I would have used rotel tomatos for more spice. Either that or salsa, rather than plain tomatoes, would have spiced it up! I liked the consistency as it was written, though. Very easy, mixed it up the night before and baked it right before serving. Thank you for the recipe, Holly, I will try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Wonderful!!! I did follow others' suggestions and used 2 cans of rotel tomatoes with green chiles, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Took it to a party and got rave reviews! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This is excellent! My husband does not like the texture of onions, so I used onion powder instead. I also used 3 cloves of garlic minced and sauteed in the oil. This recipe definitely needs the half and half in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Great recipe - I make it all the time. I use 1 can of chiles and 1 can of spicy Rotel (drained) instead of tomatoes. I use a full cup of half n half - otherwise the dip is too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Good, with recommended changes - eliminated half and half, increased tomatoes. Added hot sauce. Sprinkled a little of the cheese on top for the last 15 minutes. Strangely, it tasted better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Maybe add some sharp cheddar cheese for some of the monterrey jack; Also, try using fresh spinach next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
This is great dip!!!!!! I make many dips but none have ever been recieved as well as this one. My picky 15 year old nephew loved it as well as others.I used 1 and 1/2 cans of ro-tel diced tomatoes w/greenchiles insted of one can of whole tomatoes. I will add something to spice it up a little next time. Maybe crused red pepper flakes or a few shots of tabasco. A quality tortilla chip is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States